We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What a hidden Gem..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monterey Surf Inn
Ranked #41 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a hidden Gem..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Ok so this place is definately not posh spa/ resort kind of place but for the price this is probably one of the best places I've stayed at on Munras Ave. I frequent Monterey a lot throughout the year and I stay over a week at least 3 times a year. I have always stayed on Munras at different hotels but always passed this place up (not sure why). Anyways recently my husband, daughter and her friend went out there a for a 3 night stay and my daughter picked this place. I couldn't have been more happy. The room was average nothing spectacular but it had everything I needed. It has a nice TV, good size fridge and microwave. The continential breakfast was great! The bed was my deal breaker. It was so comfortable I actually had great sleep. The room was clean and everyone seemed very friendly. The place was quiet and the company there seemed like good wholesome normal people. I will definately continue staying here on my trips to Monterey and hope that you who reads these will give it a try and see how you like it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tikalysh518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    156
    80
    26
    26
See reviews for
78
169
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

the one night we spent here was well worth our small outlay .. the staff were helpful and friendly .. the room clean and welcoming .. the grounds tidy and even a buffet style breakfast .. handy for a visit to the aquarium and downtown ..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bhgoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean, cheap and a small breakfast to get you started was included. Yeah, there are practically no chairs and tables at the breakfast, but just take it to your room, you get where you pay for.

The value for money is just excellent.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Boess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had read the reviews when we booked and were nervous about there not being hot water, but it seems to just need a bit of time to warm up. We had no issues with that. Bit of a problem with the tub draining, but there was a plunger in the bathroom so we just fixed it ourselves. Breakfast was fine, as mentioned in previous reviews there is limited space so we just took it back to our room.
Very close to outlet shopping, and not far from beautiful downtown.
Good price for a fine motel. Staff was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
764 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

As others have stated good for a one night stay, bed was comfortable and room and bathroom clean. There was a microwave and fridge. There was a basic buffet breakfast which bearing in mind the low price ($42) was adequate. There was a very nice pool, but I did not stay long enough to use it. If you wanting to stay somewhere on a budget this motel gives you the basics at the right price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yorkie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

A motel. Would not stay more than 1 night. Carpet rather grubby but bedding fine and clean. Has a fridge and microwave. Too far out unless you have a car. Get breakfast too but not great. Very few seats so some guests take breakfast back to their room where there is a table and chairs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

The Surf is a good choice if you are looking for a clean place to spend the night in Monterey. The room is big and equipped with fridge and microwave. Bathroom is just fine. Nothing fancy here but, for the pric , it's a good deal.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rickspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#37 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
#25 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.1 mi away
Padre Oaks
Padre Oaks
#51 of 55 in Monterey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#38 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Surf Inn

Property: Monterey Surf Inn
Address: 1200 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Surf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Monterey Surf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Surf Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing