We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cheap place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monterey Surf Inn
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good cheap place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean, cheap and a small breakfast to get you started was included. Yeah, there are practically no chairs and tables at the breakfast, but just take it to your room, you get where you pay for.

The value for money is just excellent.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Boess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    151
    75
    26
    24
See reviews for
75
162
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had read the reviews when we booked and were nervous about there not being hot water, but it seems to just need a bit of time to warm up. We had no issues with that. Bit of a problem with the tub draining, but there was a plunger in the bathroom so we just fixed it ourselves. Breakfast was fine, as mentioned in previous reviews there is limited space so we just took it back to our room.
Very close to outlet shopping, and not far from beautiful downtown.
Good price for a fine motel. Staff was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
709 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

As others have stated good for a one night stay, bed was comfortable and room and bathroom clean. There was a microwave and fridge. There was a basic buffet breakfast which bearing in mind the low price ($42) was adequate. There was a very nice pool, but I did not stay long enough to use it. If you wanting to stay somewhere on a budget this motel gives you the basics at the right price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yorkie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A motel. Would not stay more than 1 night. Carpet rather grubby but bedding fine and clean. Has a fridge and microwave. Too far out unless you have a car. Get breakfast too but not great. Very few seats so some guests take breakfast back to their room where there is a table and chairs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

The Surf is a good choice if you are looking for a clean place to spend the night in Monterey. The room is big and equipped with fridge and microwave. Bathroom is just fine. Nothing fancy here but, for the pric , it's a good deal.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rickspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel was good for the one night we stayed in it. Room was spacious and clean and free breakfast in the morning consisted of self service pasteries, toast and cereals which helped start the day. Monterey is a beautiful fishing village and it is worth heading down to fisherman's wharf in the evening for a walk. We parked the car on a side street as it was free.

Room Tip: Get the breakfast early as it is self service and there can be very little food left if you leave it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

On our way from San Francisco to LA, this was an in between stop. The motel is well situated just off PCH1. We drove in the evening to the fish market and canary row. By the way, in the evening we parked at a CVS instead of using one of the pricey parking lots.
Room was fine, clean and enough space. Don't count on getting a real breakfast, it's quite limited. Good service!

Room Tip: The rooms next to the reception are most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessLightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#41 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#47 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#37 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
#24 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Surf Inn

Property: Monterey Surf Inn
Address: 1200 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Surf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Monterey Surf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Surf Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing