We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good for a one nighter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monterey Surf Inn
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good for a one nighter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

On our way from San Francisco to LA, this was an in between stop. The motel is well situated just off PCH1. We drove in the evening to the fish market and canary row. By the way, in the evening we parked at a CVS instead of using one of the pricey parking lots.
Room was fine, clean and enough space. Don't count on getting a real breakfast, it's quite limited. Good service!

Room Tip: The rooms next to the reception are most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessLightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    152
    76
    26
    24
See reviews for
75
164
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this motel and was really disappointed. The rooms had an overwhelming stench of cleaning products which was foul. We thought it was there to mask the smell of something more sinister. The beds were pretty comfy, but that was it. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to a friend and I certainly wouldn't stay here again. Plenty of other spots in Monterey which I I agile would be better.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Silver Springs, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very nice room. We had a king single. Plenty of room with newer amenities. Flat screen TV, refer, microwave. When the door and windows were closed the outside traffic noise was nonexistant.AND its walking distance to the mall and Starbucks.

Room Tip: Try for the lower number rooms as it is further from road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Friendly staff, clean room, free breakfast. Flat screen tv in room, very nice bathroom with vanity. Clean shower, comfy bed. Would definitely stay again next time I'm in Monterey. Not gonna find a better place for that price. Great coffee too!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomhudson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Overpriced bare bones motel.! Small dark room with dark rugs and older bed covers. No coffee pot, bathroom very tiny with shower and toilet; sink was in room. No extras, just a couple of bars of soap. Room was clean but had strong odor. Moldy tile on floor by shower. Overhead lighting only, no lamps, Could barely walk around. With bed so close to air conditioner, it became too cold to run and noisy. Although expected higher rate for summer, paid $412 for two nights (booking rate was $359). Outside surroundings nice. Did not use pool nor did it appear anyone else was. No breakfast and you have to go to office to get coffee - available for two hours. Beds were okay. Usually stay elsewhere in Monterey. Would never book this motel again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I like the hotel the service was good the inside of our room was clean its walking distance to the mall.there was no noise problems.the pool was not heated but clean.it's a good price hotel will be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadrunnerca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I'm exhausted writing this review. The motel itself is bare bones. Paid over $200 for one night for a hotel you would never expect to pay more than $75. Monterey is a beautiful place and obviously I paid to be here in the summer. The room had a strong odor of chemicals. The bed covers must be several years old and the carpet looks like it has been around a long time. The worst of it was the noise. People were outside partying until almost 4 in the morning. Management was unresponsive. Unfortunately I get to go through the day with little sleep. Truly my worst experience in a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colotravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#41 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#47 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#37 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
#24 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Surf Inn

Property: Monterey Surf Inn
Address: 1200 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Surf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Monterey Surf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Surf Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing