We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good price, average but clean rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monterey Surf Inn
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
182 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very good price, average but clean rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

As others said, this is a cheap, no frills hotel. The room was clean and it's very close to Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf. Forget the internet, it's horribly slow. No soap or shampoo, no coffee pot. There is a fridge and microwave. There's no sound proofing (sorry to my neighbors who had to endure my snoring) and sea gulls woke me with their cries.
The rooms were very musty, so avoid if that bothers you.

Room Tip: The rooms in the corner (10 or so) are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    147
    73
    24
    23
See reviews for
72
160
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
U.S.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I paid $45 a night for 2 nights, need I say more? I'm a little OCD about hotel cleanliness, the room was fine. It was no frills, no soaps/shampoos, very simple but clean and for that price can you ask for more? There was a fridge and microwave in the room, they had a small breakfast of cereal/coffee in the morning. It was a 10 minute drive from Cannery Row/Monterey Aquarium. The lady at the desk wasn't super helpful, but we didn't need much from her after check in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsForWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Locate in the heart of the monterey peninsula, this hotel has a good cost benefit and can be a great choice either to get to monterey, carmel or santa cruz. Has good confort in its rooms and a spacious parking lot. Breakfest is simple but good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gabrielfcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montereysurfinn, Manager at Monterey Surf Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to offer this review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for just one night on a Saturday. The location was not too far from downtown. Check in was quick and easy. The room was nice - flat screen tv, comfortable bed, soft sheets. Everything was clean and the furniture seemed new. The continental breakfast in the morning was convenient and just enough for a quick snack before checking out. We'll stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank krstymsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montereysurfinn, Manager at Monterey Surf Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to offer this review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a great budget motel. We stayed for 1 night passing through Monterey. it is located on the main road but no problems with noise. The price was cheap, room & bathroom basic but large and clean. Free parking. if you are looking for a cheap place for a night or 2 and aren't too fussed for anything fancy.. this is great. I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie-Traveller598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montereysurfinn, Manager at Monterey Surf Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to offer this review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I booked this hotel for a Saturday night for 2 queen beds and later changed my booking to a room with a single king. In the process I inadvertently changed the date to Friday. I was shocked and concerned when I came into town late Saturday night to find I had no room on a holiday weekend. I contacted the desk who was unable to assist at the time as the manager was out until 9pm. I later received a voicemail stating I had indeed booked for the wrong night, I was being charged for the no-show and to call back so they could assist with one of their sister properties in the area. I called back and nobody answered so I was forced to take the first room I could find anywhere else in town. Booking.com later contacted them and they apparently refused to refund the no show fee rather than credit it towards another night.

Needless to say I'm dissatisfied and will avoid them in the future out of principal. I hope they enjoy the no-show fee as it's the last dollar they'll get from me.

Room Tip: Don't make a mistake when booking, they're unwilling to compromise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

After a trip from San Francisco down Highway 1 to Monterey, we stayed here on December 25th. No hassles what-so-ever, very helpful and courteous service. Extremely cheap for what you receive. Comfy beds in a decent sized room. Bathroom was spotless and the shower was refreshing. I was pleasantly surprised to say the least. For the price, you absolutely cannot beat this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buckeyesfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montereysurfinn, Manager at Monterey Surf Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to offer this review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#41 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
#25 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
2.0 mi away
Ramada Limited Monterey
Ramada Limited Monterey
#20 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#48 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Surf Inn

Property: Monterey Surf Inn
Address: 1200 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Surf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Monterey Surf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Surf Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing