We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some great and some not so great points”
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Surf Inn
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Things I liked - quick check in, very comfortable beds, clean rooms, close to sights, reasonable prices, nice hot water for showers. Areas of improvement - the curtains are full block out so to keep privacy they have to be closed all the time which makes the room dark. Another curtain without full block out would be nice. The breakfast area was packed every day we went there so we had to try and bring brekkie back to our room, eventually we gave up and ate a nice breakfast elsewhere. No exhaust fans (or it's broken) in bathroom so everything feels wet in there after showers. The plumbing is extremely noisy, yours and your neighbors. Maybe its just me - but i prefer housekeepers to not move my things on counters to make it more neat. I'm happy if they Just replace towels and make bed.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Flowerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
There are newer reviews for Monterey Surf Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 400 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

The room was updated except for the bedding. It was clean and had enough room to accomodate a family of four. The parking was good, I often have problems with hotel parking driving a Suburban. I was happy to park right in front of my hotel room door. The location was great just a few minutes from the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row.
I would have like more of an offering for their continental breakfast and the breakfast area was basically the lobby. It was bread, danishes and cereal not too exciting and it went very quickly. WiFi connection was easy. Overall I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Monterey is not that big so the motel is within short driving distance of the wharf. Rooms and bathroom are renovated and clean, beds were comfortable. Heard some plumbing noise from time to time. We did not try the pool due to rainy weather.
Monterey Surf Inn's weak point is the limited continental breakfast offer that you can eat either on one of the two small tables in the reception area or in your room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phiroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The rooms are dark, bathrooms very small and shower and sink less than inviting. The full breakfast was cereal or danish, coffee was not going to be ready for another 20 minutes at 8AM on a weekday morning. It is convenient to the wharf and shopping but so are a lot of other motels in the area. Didn't think it was a good value for the money spent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerrijellison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I was very pleased to get a clean, updated room (except the comforter...ugly!). Since this is a one story, we didn't hear anyone above us, the next neighbors we heard a stomp or two every once in a while. We did not hear the noise off of the street when in our bedroom. The breakfast was bread and a toaster, small danishes, apple or orange juice, coffee and 2 types of cereal. That was fine for us. The bathroom was cozy, but nice tile. Shower was always hot and good pressure. The pool was in good shape, heated, plenty of chairs around. My only complaint was when we checked in mid-week and asked to buy tickets to the Aquarium, the owner I believe, said he did not have anymore until the weekend. Since it is a bonus to buy 1 day and get the 2nd day free from the hotel, I would have been furious that he did not offer to do something about it (call his supplier, calll another hotel, etc.). But, we only needed one child, and he went in the back and found 1 child ticket. Like I said, if we had needed the adult ones and he ran out, and did not help us get tickets, this review would have been slightly different. Overall, we paid around $115 a night, and we thought it was worth it. Close to everything...will stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Room was very nicely remodeled and not what you expected when you looked at the outside of the motel. Bathroom was cramped and front desk worker could have been more helpful. Couldn't believe the great price and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grency2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

location is great, close to malls, wharf and malls.
we came from san jose for a 2 day vacation. after we went to the aquarium, we check in, lay on the bed & it was so comfy i didnt want to get up and get ready for dinner; but we did :)
flat screen tv is a plus. bathroom is clean. everything inside the inn was great. parking lots was kinda dirty. i will be back here when im away to monterey again :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macqueli26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#38 of 56 in Monterey
139 reviews
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#55 of 56 in Monterey
67 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.3 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#48 of 56 in Monterey
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Surf Inn

Address: 1200 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: $60 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Surf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Surf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Surf Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing