We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real bargain!”
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Surf Inn
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Palm Springs, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A real bargain!”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

For a basic motel (park in front of the door), you can't find a better bargain. I paid the published rate of $45/nite. However, I was there during the week. The room had recently been renovated tastefully. My only qualm is those wall mounted a/c-heater, which can be noisy. I travel with a small room heater, which is silent. So, the noise wasn't a factor. Very pleasant indeed.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sierrarancher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    161
    87
    28
    30
See reviews for
81
184
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

This was the cheapest hotel of our hotel of our whole trip to California - I wish they had all been as good as this. The room was large as was the bed, very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was great, just what you need to start the day. Staff were lovely, couldn't find anything to fault. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Clean, modern and good value, comfortable beds. We even stayed an extra night. It's a little bit noisy but as it's on the main road, it's to be expected. We easily walked into Monterey every day. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martineh2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This hotel was a great deal for the location and the room. We booked a king bed with fridge, microwave for $50 a night. It was 3 miles from the aquarium and very quiet. Looked like it had been recently remodeled and the bed was very comfortable. Only complaints are that it specifically said the rooms had coffee makers, but they don't. Also, the heater unit was very loud, but luckily we were able to sleep with it turned off. The staff at the check-in area were rude, and acted like we were a major disruption to their evening. Even with these few inconveniences, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caifornia_Trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Friendly welcoming staff with efficient check in. One night stay here. Internet & breakfast included. Bed are comfortable and the breakfast was all right. Very close to Del Monte Shopping Center. It was nothing too special but we knew that beforehand but normal for a hotel like this.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfccs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2011

My husband planned a suprise trip for me and made reservation online. We weren't sure what to expect when we arrived. We were both definitely amazed when we saw the room. The room was very clean, nice and the bed was actually comfortable. The office staff was very pleasant as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseS232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This hotel is wonderful!!! Looks as if our room was newly remodeled, we had tons of movie channels, the room didn't have a werid smell like some hotels do, front desk service was wonderful overall the room was wonderful!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbitb2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#54 of 56 in Monterey
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
0.4 mi away
Villa Franca Inn
Villa Franca Inn
#33 of 56 in Monterey
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Surf Inn

Property: Monterey Surf Inn
Address: 1200 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Surf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Surf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Surf Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing