We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable hotel in Monterey”
Review of Stage Coach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stage Coach Lodge
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We had a great one night stay here, price was reasonable, the staff was friendly and available. The hotel was very clean, updated and comfortable. If you have good shoes and legs walking to some attractions was possible, but we chose to drive around. Parking at the hotel was included. So, if your looking for a clean, comfortable, reasonably priced hotel in this area, I would not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabyGator62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 430 of 922 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stopped off here for the night traveling from LA to SF. Well kept property that had more amenities than other larger hotels we had stayed at, notable microwave, fridge and free wi-fi. Rooms were typical size of any roadside hotel but perfect fit for what we needed. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Second floor room unless you like the convenience of having your car right outside your door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JohnW52843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

While a bit removed from the sights in Monterey, the Stagecoach Lodge is attractively landscaped and tidy. The spotless rooms, freshly painted in designer colors and outfitted with firm beds, felt especially opulent after our stay in San Simeon’s tired, dingy Courtesy Inn.

We enjoyed answering email while relaxing on the sunny patio just outside the clean, well-equipped laundry room (a nice find when you’re on the road). The room price includes a free breakfast that was too heavy on processed carbs for our tastes, but that others might enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank MadeByMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Mark:

I wanted to take the time to personally thank you for your balanced positive review of your stay at The Stage Coach Lodge. We work really hard to maintain a very clean place to stay that offers creature comforts, great design, and luxe touches at affordable rates in Monterey and your comments seem to hit on each of our driving forces like a hammer on a nail! Awesome!

Thank you for staying with us. Visit us again. Next time book with us directly at montereystagecoachlodge.com and use the promo code: tripadvisor to save a few pings.

Regards,

Sue
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

The motel is about 400m from the waterfront so is a bit of hike if that was what you were after, but the rooms are good as is pretty much everything else. The downstairs rooms get a bit of noise from the upper rooms. There is a small shopping center 100m behind the motel that has most items that you may be after. Overall, 'it does what is say's on the tin'.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Rob:

I wanted to take the time to thank you for staying with us at The Stage Coach Lodge in Monterey and leaving your fair review. We work really hard to make The Stage Coach a top ten place to stay in Monterey. We're the smallest hotel in the top ten and offer an alternative stay to the chain motels and expensive big name hotels. We're nestled in a residential neighborhood but very close to all that Monterey has to offer and your review helps highlight this.

We'd love to host you again. Next time, book direct with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com where you'll find our lowest rates.

Thank You!

Raj
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here as group. The rooms are nice and clean and the hotel appears to be well maintained. It is a bit out of town - it is a good 20 - 30 minutes walk to the main part of Monterey. The only downside is, if you are on the lower floor, the noise from the room above carries down. I think this is because of the wooden floors. Maybe not such an issue for some people but we had the people above us up and about at 5.30am.

Overall though it is a reasonable place to stay

Room Tip: Try and get an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tour_contact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I struggled with whether to give this motel a three or four star review. In the end, the interactions with the staff put them over the top, as they really were super nice to deal with.

Keep in mind, this is four stars for a motel so expectations must be kept in check.

The staff here are so friendly and helpful. Every time we had a question about a local attraction, making a phone call, the best routes to take, they were happy to help. It seems to be family-run and they are doing their best to make sure everyone is treated very well. The housekeeping staff, who we ran into over our two-day stay, were really cheerful - always nice to see.

The wi-fi worked well, which is very important to us. The room was clean and nice enough. I loved that they have taken so much time with the beautiful flowers around the building - they were blooming and gorgeous.

We like to walk, so this was a perfect location. It's about 20 minutes to the beach along a quiet street (or a lovely lake, depending on your route) and then about 10 more minutes to Fisherman's Wharf and another 10-20 (depending on your pace) to Cannery Row. We walked a lot both days we were there and it always felt safe and really lovely. The motel also provides info on where to find reasonable parking if you prefer to drive.

My biggest conflict in giving four stars was the bed. Oh, the bed. The bed is a two-star for sure. When you sit on it you just know it's going to be uncomfortable. And it is. I feel like this is such a great little place and if they would just improve the beds they would be getting all sorts of five-star reviews. But for an affordable motel for two nights, it was OK.

There are also a few issues with noise. For some reason, the toilets flush very loudly. So loudly that we could hear them clearly in the room next door (and I'm sure vice versa). It's not the biggest issue in the world, but just a bit strange.

My husband was disappointed in the TV channel selection (it's very basic), so if that's the sort of thing that you care about, keep this in mind.

The breakfast is fine - nothing special but good for the price point and there was fruit (always a nice touch). However, the breakfast room is really small with super limited seating. We just ate in our room, which was perfectly fine (they offer trays), but when it's busy it can be tough to get to the toaster, find space to make cereal, etc. We went earlier the second day and it was much calmer.

We would definitely consider staying here again, but would be even more inclined to do so if they changed to better mattresses.

Room Tip: Head to the breakfast room early and avoid the busiest times. Lots of families stay here and it gets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KristaVino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here withy family on a road trip down the coast. Great for families, very friendly help at checkin and after. Gave us a coupon for a free app at a local restaurant. The location was right off route 1 and minutes to the Aquarium. I had to do a load of laundry and the machines were really clean. In fact everything was clean and the rooms/checkin were recently renovated. Decent breakfast also included. Can't beat the price in Monterey!!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank SDmommy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.3 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,566 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 56 in Monterey
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#29 of 56 in Monterey
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Coach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Lodge

Address: 1111 10th St, Monterey, CA 93940-3638 (Formerly Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Monterey
#7 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#10 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $76 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Lodge in Monterey, CA offers the best value for travelers visiting Monterey, CA and the Central California Coast. Conveniently located in Downtown Monterey, The Stage Coach Lodge is off the beaten path in a quiet residential area but right off of Highway 1 and minutes from all of the great amenities Monterey has to offer including Fisherman's Wharf, Carmel, Monterey Bay Aquarium and more. Fully remodeled with nice luxurious touches and offering great rates, The Stage Coach Lodge is a top ranked place to stay in Monterey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stage Coach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Stage Coach Hotel Monterey
Americas Best Value Inns Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing