We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stage Coach Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$270
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Spindrift Inn(Monterey)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$242
$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Monterey Bay Lodge(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$127
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$342
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$202
$168
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (951)
Filter reviews
951 results
Traveler rating
376
410
120
28
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
410
120
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini muffinsfisherman's wharflaundry facilitiessmall poolcannery rowupstairs roomcontinental breakfastquiet locationking suitecoffee makerdennis the menace parkminute walkstay there againbed was comfortablefridge and microwavethe breakfast areagreat place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
573 - 578 of 951 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed at stage coach lodge for four nights. Big comfy beds. Nice clean rooms. Well located one and a half miles to downtown Monterey. Friendly hosts who provide a basic but adequate continental breakfast. Only reason I didn't give five stars is the pillows were very flat. A minor inconvenience. Recommended.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Karen:

Thank you so much for your positive review about your stay at Stage Coach Lodge in Monterey. Cleanliness is next to Godliness in our book so we are really pleased that you found our place spotless. As with the pillows--we're sorry that you found them a bit flat. We certainly have other pillows we could have provided you. We hope to make it right next time, so please do come visit us again!

Next time you visit, we kindly advise you to book directly at montereystagecoachlodge.com to find our lowest rates.

See you soon,

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

After reading the great reviews on here we decided on staying here for a short family vacation. I booked the room right off of their site for two nights and it was very easy. The lady that greeted us was very nice and helpful and gave us an area map. The place is small and off the beaten path but I like that. We were traveling with our 4 year old and we got a room with two double beds. The room was spacious and newly remodeled including the bathroom. The beds were a little too springy and hard for my husband and a little noisy but my son and I liked the harder beds. We were right by a staircase and the walls are thin but I'm also a light sleeper. My husband had no problems sleeping through it all. Overall nice comfortable and clean place to stay while enjoying sightseeing in Monterey. Compared with the other places I have stayed in Monterey this one definitely wins for value, cleanliness, and service. There is a continental breakfast each morning as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennybenny01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

JennyBenny:

You are awesome! Thanks for such a great review. We are a little bummed we missed out on a couple points and just barely missed a perfect review! But nonetheless, your review really means alot to us. It reflects the hard work and investment we have put into our property to make it one of the best values when visiting Monterey. Please do help spread the word.

Next time you come visit do book directly with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com where you will find our lowest rates. On top of that, enter the promo code tripadvisor and save $5 extra per night!

See you soon,

Sue & Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

What a lovely hotel this is. The bedroom was clean, fresh, light and airy. Enjoyed our stay at this hotel, friendly staff.....until breakfast that is. Only two tables and a very small breakfast bar. Breakfast is not served early at this hotel. We had to wait until 8. Everyone headed for breakfast and it was full. They said we could take it away to our room but we didnt want to load a tray up and walk to our room. This is the only thing that let this hotel down.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElaineH411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Elaine:

I wanted to first off thank you for your honest review and wanted to personally apologize about your experience at breakfast. We actually just finished redesigning our breakfast room to accommodate larger groups and I guess the morning you went to have breakfast we must have had a rush, so we truly apologize for your poor experience in the morning. We are still very thankful for your review and would hope that you come visit us again. We will do what we can to make sure you are accommodated well at breakfast time.

Please book directly with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com next time to save!

Sincerely,

Raj - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

When you visit the Monterey peninsula mostly you are outside so you can get a basic room type and it's fine. This property has WiFi and cable. The owner is friendly. We got an excellent rate with a Groupon. We have tried 4 or more places in the Monterey area, and we think staying in Pacific Grove is the most fun because it is easier to walk to the beach and there is less traffic. Monterey area is compact and you are never too far from anything. So I would recommend this place if you want a budget motel. For its category it is fine.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fritzikay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Overall a good experience. Clean rooms. We might have been there during an expensive weekend, our room was around $120 which I think was a bit high but monterey seems to be pricey fir hotels in general. It was nice that they had a pool.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoannaT808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews