We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Budget Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stage Coach Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stage Coach Lodge
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Taiwan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Budget Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Very Quiet hotel only 20 minutes walk to Fisherman's Wharf, another 15 mins walk to Cannery Row where all the fun and restaurant located. Hotel breakfast ok continental nothing else , people are friendly and nice. Rooms are clean but check the coffee maker .. ours is dusty we need to wash it up again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lollipop237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are very thankful for your review. We certainly apologize about the issue you had with your coffee pot and we have addressed such concerns with our housekeeping. We are pleased that you felt we offered a great budget stay as that highlights our aim to be a high quality budget friendly place to stay when visiting Monterey.

Do come visit us again and next time do book directly with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com and save.

Thank You,

Sue - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    342
    102
    27
    16
See reviews for
195
403
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a wonderful couple of days in Monterey. Stayed at the Stagecoach Inn, which was a nice walking distance from Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel was on a quiet street in a safe neighborhood. The owners were very nice and accommodating. We slept well and enjoyed the continental breakfast both mornings. We definitely will go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Linda:

We are very pleased that you had a wonderful experience spending your anniversary with us at The Stage Coach. Thank you for your gracious review.

Please do come and visit us again. Next time, book directly with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com and save!

Regards,
Raj - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

In the outer parts of the township, this motel seems to have been completely renovated in recent times, so we were lucky to ignore the older poor reviews and focus on the more recent ones.
Our room seemed typical, was spacious with quality fittings and furniture, lovely beds, and a truly excellent bathroom.
I couldn't get the wifi working, but maybe that was just my iPad, as my daughter's Mac had no problems.
Breakfast was pretty basic but OK, certainly not a complaint given the great value of the lodging.
Don't fuss about the location, just drive down Park St, deviate into Sloat, then follow the coast road into the town and sights like Fishermans Wharf and Cannery Row.
Remember to visit the beaches at Pacific Grove to check out the seals and sea otters - enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hello Mark:

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found our hotel to be a great find. We do recognize that we are a bit off the beaten path and not on one of those motel strips. We feel that this is actually one of our best advantages. We are centrally located, right off of the Downtown Monterey exit in a quiet residential area with easy access to all of Monterey's attractions.

We certainly appreciate your kind words and hope you do spread the word. Come back and visit us again some time. Book directly at montereystagecoachlodge.com and save!

Regards,

Sue & Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I bought a groupon for this place and I'm so glad that I did. One of the best groupons I've ever purchased. And it was all because of the excellent service that my boyfriend and I received at this place.
The rooms were absolutely perfect for us. They were very clean and very well maintained. Perfect place to sleep after a long day of sight seeing. The location was great too. Just a few short minutes from fisherman's wharf and cannery row.
This is the perfect place to stay in Monterey. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the owners provide excellent customer service, and the price was right! We'll definitely be coming back here.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Raquel_F926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Raquel:

Thank you for your PERFECT review. We've been on a roll with these stellar reviews so thank you so much for your glowing words.

We'd love to host you again. Please book directly at montereystagecoachlodge and find our lowest rates. Enter promo code tripadvisor and save an additional $5 per night.

Best Regards,
Sue & Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Having stayed in several hotels during a 4 week driving holiday, we were so impressed with the Stage Coach Inn when we checked that we immediately booked a second night so we could spend time the next day exploring the Monterey area. The owners were more than cordial and helpful, our room was spacious and spotless and seemed to have been recently updated. The morning breakfast was fine - pastries, juice, coffee and cereal. The laundry room facility was also spotless - a signal to me about the housekeeping standards of a motel.

We would give this a huge thumbs up to couples and families - too cool for a dip in the pool when we visited (late March), but it looked well kept.

Room Tip: Note - motel did not have a fitness center or restaurant and these were therefore not rated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Susan:

Thank you for your PERFECT review. We are gushing in pride and very flattered by your kind words. We love it when we hear from guests like you because it confirms that the labor of love we are putting into The Stage Coach Lodge is coming to fruition.

We certainly hope that you come spend some more time with us and continue to spread the word. Please book directly at montereystagecoachlodge.com and punch in the promo code tripadvisor to redeem a $5 per night discount.

Thank You,

Sue & Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stage Coach Lodge is budget friendly, clean, quiet, and includes free breakfast. Owners and staff are very friendly and accommodating. Appears to be newly remodeled with new granite counter top, granite bath walls and floor. Highly recommended for couples and/or family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m100fires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest:

We really appreciate your honest review. We are really working hard to position our hotel as the quaint and charming budget boutique lodge centrally located in Monterey. It makes us super happy to see that our guests like you affirm our mission.

We hope you come and visit us again. Type in tripadvisor in our Promo Code section at montereystagecoachlodge.com and save a few extra pings.

We hope to see you again,

Jay & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here because we bought a Groupon for a weekend stay and at first, it was an absolute nightmare. I tried probably close to 20 times to book a specific hotel room as specified on the Groupon on the hotel's website with no luck and when I called the hotel, the customer service was absolutely no help. I was so disgusted since I had already paid for it and requested Groupon to refund my purchase. However, the next morning, I got a phone call from Krystal at the hotel who offered a different room for the weekend I had been requesting at the same price as the Groupon offer-awesome. She was absolutely wonderful and even sent me an email confirmation.
Once we got to the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised. It was clean, there was plenty of parking, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was really nice since the hotel was right off the freeway and it took less than 10 minutes to get to the Aquarium from the hotel-and the wharf was even closer.
The continental breakfast was pretty simple but good enough- (fruit, pastries, cereal, juice, and coffee). Our room was very clean, we had hot running water, and the bed was comfy. No complaints here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrioticQT05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your perfect marks in your review. This means a ton to us. We really strive to make sure all of our guests have as great an experience as you. We apologize about the issues you did face with the Groupon we ran as we just simply got inundated. Krystal says hello and thanks you for your patience and understanding.

We're glad that you were able to see the value we did offer and charm and off the beaten path location of the Stage Coach Lodge. Please do help spread the word, and come visit us again.

Contact us in advance and we'll shoot you over a promo code. Book directly on our website at montereystagecoachlodge.com for our lowest rates.

We hope to see you again,

Sue, Krystal & Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.9 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Coach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Lodge

Property: Stage Coach Lodge
Address: 1111 10th St, Monterey, CA 93940-3638 (Formerly Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Monterey
#7 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#11 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Lodge in Monterey, CA offers the best value for travelers visiting Monterey, CA and the Central California Coast. Conveniently located in Downtown Monterey, The Stage Coach Lodge is off the beaten path in a quiet residential area but right off of Highway 1 and minutes from all of the great amenities Monterey has to offer including Fisherman's Wharf, Carmel, Monterey Bay Aquarium and more. Fully remodeled with nice luxurious touches and offering great rates, The Stage Coach Lodge is a top ranked place to stay in Monterey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Stage Coach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Stage Coach Hotel Monterey
Americas Best Value Inns Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing