We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Stage Coach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stage Coach Lodge
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stage Coach Lodge is budget friendly, clean, quiet, and includes free breakfast. Owners and staff are very friendly and accommodating. Appears to be newly remodeled with new granite counter top, granite bath walls and floor. Highly recommended for couples and/or family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m100fires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Guest:

We really appreciate your honest review. We are really working hard to position our hotel as the quaint and charming budget boutique lodge centrally located in Monterey. It makes us super happy to see that our guests like you affirm our mission.

We hope you come and visit us again. Type in tripadvisor in our Promo Code section at montereystagecoachlodge.com and save a few extra pings.

We hope to see you again,

Jay & Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
There are newer reviews for Stage Coach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 888 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here because we bought a Groupon for a weekend stay and at first, it was an absolute nightmare. I tried probably close to 20 times to book a specific hotel room as specified on the Groupon on the hotel's website with no luck and when I called the hotel, the customer service was absolutely no help. I was so disgusted since I had already paid for it and requested Groupon to refund my purchase. However, the next morning, I got a phone call from Krystal at the hotel who offered a different room for the weekend I had been requesting at the same price as the Groupon offer-awesome. She was absolutely wonderful and even sent me an email confirmation.
Once we got to the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised. It was clean, there was plenty of parking, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was really nice since the hotel was right off the freeway and it took less than 10 minutes to get to the Aquarium from the hotel-and the wharf was even closer.
The continental breakfast was pretty simple but good enough- (fruit, pastries, cereal, juice, and coffee). Our room was very clean, we had hot running water, and the bed was comfy. No complaints here!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatrioticQT05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your perfect marks in your review. This means a ton to us. We really strive to make sure all of our guests have as great an experience as you. We apologize about the issues you did face with the Groupon we ran as we just simply got inundated. Krystal says hello and thanks you for your patience and understanding.

We're glad that you were able to see the value we did offer and charm and off the beaten path location of the Stage Coach Lodge. Please do help spread the word, and come visit us again.

Contact us in advance and we'll shoot you over a promo code. Book directly on our website at montereystagecoachlodge.com for our lowest rates.

We hope to see you again,

Sue, Krystal & Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We used a groupon, which was also our first experience. We stayed in a Double Queen, with our 8 year old Grandson, for two nights. The rooms were just as advertised, large, the beds were very comfortable. The rooms were spotless and well kept. All the amenities, refrigorator, microwave, coffee pot, iron. I was amazed at how quiet it was being so close to the road. It was close to everything, the Aquariaum, Wharf, resturants, Beach. This was the first place I have stayed that the staff took the time to call me back to confirm our reservations and email a follow-up. The staff were so nice and very helpful. We are retired and travel a lot with our Grandchildren, so we are very aware of what it is like to not get a good room. We will stay here again on our next trip in Monterey and Highly reccomend the Stage Couch Lodge, for an overnight stay or a week stay. Can't go wrong here. Jeanette & Richard

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdknorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Jeanette & Richard:

We could not be more appreciative of your kind words and Perfect Review. It means alot to us when any of our guests leave us a review because we know time is valuable to all, so thank you. And thank you even more for leaving us a Perfect Review at that. Wow! We are flattered and humbled. It means alot to us because we have been working very hard to really achieve all that made you happy with your stay. Please do spread the word.

Also, we would love to host you again. Please do contact us in advance and we'll get you a promo code and directly book with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com.

We hope to see you again,

Sue & Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in Montenery and found this hotel. It is very close to the beach, the wharf, the aquarium etc...good location and quiet. Breakfast and wifi are free and both great. Take this hotel for 1-2 days.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank testschmecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our stay in the Stage Coach Lodge was through a Groupon offer. We were very pleased with the staff and the cleanliness of the room and the facilities in general.
It´s at a walking distance to the Fisherman´s Wharf of Monterey.
Excellent choice in Monterey!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Albert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Albert:

Well, what can we say but express our utmost gratitude to you for leaving a perfect review. We always get a bit giddy when we get these perfect scores because it means so much to us. We are really working super hard to make The Stage Coach Lodge one of the hidden gems and best values to stay in Monterey and reviews like yours really captures our effort.

Thank You! We'd love to host you again. Please do book directly with us on our website at montereystagecoachlodge.com to find our lowest rates. Also, input the promo code tripadvisor and save a few more bucks!

We hope to see you again,

Sue & Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

In all 5 budget hotels I stayed in US during this trip, I love this one most. The reception man was really nice and hard working. Breakfast was simple but made me feel like at home. Easy parking, clean room, quiet location. Nearby there was a convenience store selling deli food. But it only opened till 7pm.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank amywsznd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Amy:

I wanted to take some time out and personally thank you for the time you took out of your day to leave us a fair and balanced review. We are glad that we were your favorite budget hotel on your stay in the US. It means that we are onto something. We are working to position our hotel as the best alternative to those cookie cutter franchised hotels or pricier big name hotels. We're excited that you felt we struck that balance as a great budget property with charm and a hospitable staff.

We'd love if you could spread the word. We'd also love to host you again. Next time, please book direct at montereystagecoachlodge.com to find our lowest rates. Enter the promo code tripadvisor and save a little more off of our already lowest rates around.

Thank You,
Sue & Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The only down side to this hotel was that the mattress was way too firm. The rest? Perfection. Nice owners onsite, easy to park, spacious room and actual apples thoughtfully put in with ye olde continental breakfast. Normally at motel type places if you get some processed carbs with questionable coffee you can count yourself lucky, but this place was delightfully kind. Very, very, very reasonable price, less than half of anything else in the area.

Room Tip: Corner suites are substantially larger for not much more money.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cookietheviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,069 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 56 in Monterey
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#11 of 56 in Monterey
668 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Coach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Lodge

Address: 1111 10th St, Monterey, CA 93940-3638 (Formerly Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Monterey
#7 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#11 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $130 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Lodge in Monterey, CA offers the best value for travelers visiting Monterey, CA and the Central California Coast. Conveniently located in Downtown Monterey, The Stage Coach Lodge is off the beaten path in a quiet residential area but right off of Highway 1 and minutes from all of the great amenities Monterey has to offer including Fisherman's Wharf, Carmel, Monterey Bay Aquarium and more. Fully remodeled with nice luxurious touches and offering great rates, The Stage Coach Lodge is a top ranked place to stay in Monterey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Stage Coach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Stage Coach Hotel Monterey
Americas Best Value Inns Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing