We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too expensive for a great afternoon!”

Adventures by the Sea
Ranked #12 of 42 Tours in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have 5 bike, kayak, and SUP rental locations on the Monterey Peninsula. We also offer daily Kayak Tours at 10:00AM and 2:00PM daily. We have bikes for all ability levels: have high-end carbon fiber road bikes, mountain bikes, cruisers, hybrid, and new to our rental fleet Pedego Electric Bikes.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not too expensive for a great afternoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Me and my friend rented a stand up paddle board for a reasonable price. The staff was helpful and answered to our questions. Furthermore, Adventure By The Sea has a great location, which permits to see an important population of sea seals.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jassride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    36
    5
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
158 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

rented a kayak from the cannery row location one day and had a great time, next day I rented a SUP and enjoyed it just as much, really convenient, good quality rental equipment, they can give you some basic instruction if you need it

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank diverguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bait and switch”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stopped in at the end of the day on Saturday saying that we wanted bikes for the next morning. They did half day rentals ($40) and said to have them back at noon on Sunday. Sunday morning was pouring rain. When we brought the bikes back the guys who rented them to us knew about the rain and thought were riding Saturday night. Not true or nice.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily W, Manager at Adventures by the Sea, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us. The reason we offer the half day rate is so guests can ride before and after the shop closes, before we open in the morning, and into the afternoon. Renting a bike for 2.5 hours is the same as the half day rate of $20.00 per bike. This flexibility and price is usually quite popular with our guests, we are sorry the weather did not cooperate for your morning ride. We do hope you’ll come back and visit us next time you are in Monterey and enjoy the beauty of a coastal bike ride.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good bikes good rates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Bikes were in good shape, excellent brakes, reasonable piece, very fun riding along the seaside! Good variety of styles. Wish they were open later than 5pm. Helmets were good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BaziltheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily W, Manager at Adventures by the Sea, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We appreciate your feedback. Come on back this spring/summer, we'll be open until 8PM. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Fun Day on the Surreys!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We rented a surrey from the Monterey location down by the wharf. The girl who helped us was friendly and helpful. $20 for an hour, cut rate from there.

We biked down to Cannery Row and locked the surrey to a bike rack while we walked around a bit. We needed air in one of the tires and conveniently there is another store right off Cannery Row. The guy there was also friendly and helpful.

We had a great time, the surreys were in excellent condition!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Off2SeeItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventures by the Sea also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Adventures by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing