We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly has slipped badly!”
Review of Restaurant 1833

Restaurant 1833
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant 1833 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 304 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Polk Street
Irvine, CA
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Sadly has slipped badly!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

What a difference a year makes! A year ago, I reviewed this restaurant in a posting entitled "As Good As It Gets", and gave it a rating of 5 in all categories. We just had dinner there, and it was quite frankly one of the poorest dining experiences we've ever had on the Monterey Peninsula. Our food ranged from dreadful to mediocre at best. In the dreadful category was an "artichoke soup" in which the only flavor detectable in the broth was salt, and perhaps chicken stock. There were four small pieces of artichoke in the soup, although the broth was "garnished" with four large escargots and abundant fatty ham hock...bizarre additions to an artichoke soup. It was as though they threw the weeks leftovers in a pot and decided to call it artichoke soup. Also strangely, it was served in a severely and multiply chipped bowl. When I pointed this out to a manager, he said that the chef was trying to portray a "shabby chic" look...truly weird. The rest of our food was edible, but everything was pretty flavorless, but very salty.

We engaged in conversation a couple sitting next to us. They barely touched their starters, and only tasted their entrees. They said they were going to eat elsewhere after leaving 1833. Strangely, when their uneaten entrees were removed from the table, no question was raised as to whether or not anything was wrong. When my barely touched "artichoke soup" was removed, likewise nothing was said. Certainly not the sign of a restaurant where the chef cares about pleasing his patrons.

Obviously the above comments reflect not only upon the food, but on the service which was equally poor. Lastly, although the restaurant is only a year or two old, it's sadly beginning to look a bit worn.

I think that unfortunately what was once a terrific restaurant is now very poor, and I can in no way recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    92
    45
    23
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“unique and enjoyable”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

ate there with a group and all give it a thumbs up. Great decor and warm ambiance - we ate upstairs where they've cleverly crafted different rooms and settings - the bar area looked appealing and would sit there next time. Menu extensive and food quality terrific. Server wanted to argue about wine selection but otherwise service was fine. loved how the bill was presented inside a vintage book!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justdme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinner & Drinks”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

1833 is on the Monterey Ghost House Tour. The owners have created an elegant restaurant with shelved library books, magnifying glass candle sconces and fireplaces flickering in low light to create a truly dreamy environment. The food is sumptuous, creative and fun to share and the sommolier is first class and expresses an ownership quality that is really warming. And like the best hospitality, from the busboys to bartenders, they are all highly educated about the unique history of the restaurant, the food , the drink and don't pass the buck - they stop what they're doing to make sure your visit is world class. All I can say is, they succeed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meanvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, CO
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very good place to eat”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had dinner there. Ambience very nice. The presentation wonderful. Our meal was good and the service good as well. We enjoyed our evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank livetoeat1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Drinks & Apps”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were in Monterey for 1 day visiting from the East Coast. Read about Restaurant 1833 and wanted to check it out. So glad we did. We had drinks and apps at the beautiful white onyx bar. Bartenders are serious about their cocktails and hubby enjoyed his.

The building and its many dining rooms were very interesting.

The Bacon & Cheddar biscuits are as great as they sound. The quail with a croissant stuffing was incredible as was the asparagus salad.

Both the staff and fellow patrons were friendly and highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Izzy214Burlington_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 1833 also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Restaurant 1833? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing