We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely restaurant with fine wine list”
Review of Restaurant 1833

Restaurant 1833
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant 1833 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 304 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Polk Street
Rockville
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Really lovely restaurant with fine wine list”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

1833 is a restaurant well worth multiple visits. It is a lively, very attractive venue with lots of small rooms and a totally lovely bar and overall decor. The bar has a fine selection of whisky's (my favorite) and other drinks. But, as with the wines for dinner, the prices for alcohol is rather inflated compared to comparable libations at other places I've been.

That said, the food is excellent, service very well done and thoughtful, and the dining room I was in very pleasant. We were a party of eight and we had a round table (always a plus for large groups) with high back chairs that helped afford a bit of privacy, and a bit of noise control. Still, the restaurant is a bit louder than I normally like, though by no means uncomfortable, and conversation was reasonably easy.

The appetizers are interesting, the main courses varying and really nicely done, and elegant deserts. I very much look forward to a return visit.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fishperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    92
    45
    23
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Unique cuisine in a unique setting”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The restaurant is an updated 19th Century residence which has a Jacksonian feel to it, which is apropos given it's name. The food is modern and diverse. My wife had a super butternut squash ravioli dish. I had chicken We shared a dish of brussels sprouts. Yum to all of it. The portions were well sized. There are many interesting spaces to dine in this lovely house, including a room with a mounted boar's head.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkHazelbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Could go back everyday”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stumbled across the 1833 when we took a wrong turn and it worked out great. 4 outdoor fire pits are in the front patio area and the ambiance just gets better inside. It's like eating dinner at a friend's house. Great drinks (although a little expensive). I had the squash ravioli and brussel sprouts and it was my best meal of the week. My husband did not enjoy his steak quite as much but he still thought it was good (although also a little overpriced). My favorite was the cocktails by the fire but the food is also worth a trip.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fossilgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Off the chain!”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

The bar scene is spectacular; cocktails are one of a kind! All of the apps and entrees we tried were great especially the truffle chicken. Ted recommended a great wine pairing and overall, the experience was outstanding.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Quiet Eclectic Elegance”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Although we miss the former warmth of Stokes, we revisited Restaurant 1833 for a second time. We were not disappointed even though it took three tries to correctly serve our martinis. The soups are superb, and the grilled octopus was tender and deliciously sauced. My Mahi-Mahi, poached in the broth of its small black mussels was perfectly spiced and accompanied. Bravo to the chef! As 1833 matures the staff will learn when and when not to interrupt conversation, but we certainly return during a future visit to Monterey.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SOCALGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 1833 also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Restaurant 1833? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing