We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must go here when in Monterey”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pierce Ranch Vineyards Tasting Room
Ranked #45 of 105 things to do in Monterey
Attraction details
Lafayette, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must go here when in Monterey”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This little winery, a couple streets off of the main road, was a find! We had a groupon, but if you want to taste, it's only $5.00 and they refund the tasting price if you purchase a bottle. They pour five pours and each one is better then the next. The wines range in price from $17 to $22 a bottle. I would definately add this to your list of places to visit on your next trip to Monterey.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very unusual, and great value for special wines”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I stopped by there this afternoon and met a very friendly server as well as one of the owners. Had a great conversation with both of them, and learned a lot about their very unusual types of wines for this region, almost all Spanish and Portuguese, including some rare ones. They opened several bottles beyond the ones on the standard list when I expressed interest, and I really got a good sense of what they have to offer, which is almost all in the $20 vicinity, and almost all very good value, with winds from many different tastes. Very friendly, and a real pleasure, and a very reasonable five dollar tasting fees that is waived if you buy some wine.

Helpful?
3 Thank eternaloptimist815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Picture-perfect tasting room”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a great find! From the charming, inviting exterior to the friendly staff and limited-edition wines, this should be on everyone's Monterey itinerary. Take the time to talk wine and learn why the owners chose the varieties they are growing. Stop in on a Friday night and enjoy live music to kick start the weekend's activities. Located near the tourist madness that is Cannery Row, this tasting room will transport you to another dimension -- the civilized world.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wordbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A place to taste some unique wines”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The pourer was very generous and stayed open a little longer so we could enjoy our time tasting the wine. The wines were all very good and different than what we expected.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KatiePesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“very good monterey county wine!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Fun tasting room...good wines...very friendly atmosphere. I especially enjoyed their red wines. Josh the winemaker is very accomodating!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pierce Ranch Vineyards Tasting Room also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Pierce Ranch Vineyards Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing