We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monterey Bay Travelodge was an excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Bay Travelodge
Ranked #38 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed September 24, 2006

My husband, 9 year old son and I stayed here in August 2006. It was an excellent value and a great location for touring all over the Monterey peninsula. The room was spacious and clean with all needed amenities. The staff was helpful and nice and the free breakfast was delicious. The heated pool was also nice. Buzzards BBQ next door was great! The only negative was the airplane noice which started at 6:30 each morning. This was not a problem for us, since we were up early to sightsee every morning.

BTW, Monterey penisula is a great vacation for kids. We loved all we did and saw---whalewatching, Fishermans Wharf, Monterey bay aquarium, hiking in Big Sur, Carmel beach. We also did a great wildlife safari tour of the Elkhorn Slough in Moss Landing, CA, which is 20 minutes north.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mandy6494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

986 - 992 of 1,190 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Southern California
13
Reviewed April 30, 2006

This place is a rip-off. Avoid at all costs. First, the on-line booking guarantees a certain rate. When you sign in, in very small print, you are charged an extra $1.00 per day for a 'service warranty' fee, which is the 'privilege' of having an in room safe box. The fee is charged PER DAY regardless of whether or not you use the box. Although most would agree that this is a nominal fee, its the principal of the charge! The next thing you know, they will be charging $1.00 per day for the iron, ironing board, and room furniture, per piece! Their 'free breakfast' is nothing but juice, coffee, cold danish (think the cheapest they can buy at the local grocery store). It's quite obvious that they want you to use the adjacent restaurant for breakfast because they probably get a kick-back. Also, they don't tell you anything about the planes that start arriving at the airport at 6:30 a.m. every day. Sounds like the planes are about to land on the roof. For the money I spent here, I could (and should) have stayed at the Embassy Suites in Seaside. P.S. Tried raising the issue with Travelodge Corporate offices, but they supported their franchisee. Absolute last time I use a Travelodge accommodation. I will stay home if nothing else is available.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Van nuys Ca
12
Reviewed March 31, 2006

We decided to stay in Monterey as we traveled the coast and after our first few attempts to finding a decent room and only being met with bored, rude front desk agents we came to this hotel and it's great staff. Mike the night agent was very helpful, happy and energetic in selling us a room at afair price. the rooms are clean and well stocked for a family and the area is perfect for accessing the highway while visiting. Between Mike at night and Billy in the morning, who by the way is being trained , they made the best of our stay and had us enjoying the hotel. You can not beat the price and cleanliness, don't hesitate to give them a go.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2006

I have just returned from Travelodge Monterey Bay and what a horrible experience I endured and hope never too again. I booked the room directly through Travelodge since it seemed to be the least expensive. I stayed for three nights at $45.00 per night. The $45.00 per night is only for Scuba divers. You have to bring your PADI card to get a room at this rate. I was not expecting a luxury motel at $45.00 per night but I was expecting the facility to be clean. I thought since the front lobby looked clean and modern the rest of the motel was the same. Boy was I wrong......Here are a few warnings before making reservations at this facility.
1) The room needs major remodeling. The room had worn appliances and dressers. The hallway even had a giant bleach stain on the carpet. Only two of the lights in the room were working. When I asked for the lightbulbs to be replaced, the front desk staff said they would look into it (It was never fixed).
2) The king sized bed was hard as a rock and lumpy.
3) The motel is directly across from an airport. I heard planes and helicopters leaving at all hours of the night.
4) The bathroom did not have a tub but only a ugly tile blue shower.
5) I could never get the heater in the room to work correctly which would have come in handy after being out on the cold beach all day.
6) The room I was in was on the bottom floor overlooking the parking lot. I would not recommend the bottom floor if you are traveling by yourself. The room had a sliding glass door that opens into the parking lot. The latch to the door did not seem to secure correctly.
7) The computer room has no printer so forget trying to print out maps of how to get to where you want to go. The front desk staff said the printer broke and would not be replaced.
Pay the extra money and go somewhere where you will enjoy your vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DisneyTrip2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta, GA
314
Reviewed March 2, 2006

I booked this hotel through the Priceline service. This hotel is approximately 5 miles from downtown Monterey. I found the rooms to be quite nice and large. The room was clean and had a nice view of the pool. The people at the front desk were very nice and allowed us to leave our bags in our room after checkout while we went to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. The motel advertised a free breakfast which was just coffee and pastries. We headed next door to the motel restaurant and had a well priced and filling breakfast. While not the newest, this hotel was clean, quiet, and was an excellent value.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2005

Booked a one night stay Oct 1st with a discount broker online. Since we booked only a week before our stay we already knew not to expect much since it’s always best to book far in advance. Check-in is at 3:00pm, and we got there about 10 minutes before and was hoping to get early check-in; no such luck. We were told that rooms were being cleaned and we would need to wait about ½ hour. When we mentioned the 3:00pm checkin, we were told “ yes, but that is not guaranteed” which prompted my sister to say “no wonder this place got bad reviews”. I see others had problems with checkin; Travelodge should really get more cleaning help and even if people request late checkout like we did, that’s still 1:00pm. So my suggestion is to check in way earlier than 3:00pm to secure a good room and prompt them to hurry up on getting it ready. We were on the ground floor and overlooked the swimming pool which I believe is the best location, otherwise you’re looking at the parking lot. Also, some of the rooms don’t have balconies. But the room was clean albeit worn down. Rooms need brighter lighting or more lighting. Some pluses: they have an exercise room that has one treadmill, one bike and one Elliptical climber, overhead t.v. and a bathroom. You need to get the key from the clerk and sign for use, but it is free. The treadmill worked great. The business center is a small room located in the lobby that has two computers with free internet access; the printer was broken though. Nice to have a microwave and refer in room. I would recommend an overnight stay or a 2 night stay, but no longer than that.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TACalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2005

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishboy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#24 of 56 in Monterey
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#39 of 56 in Monterey
148 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stargazer Inn and Suites
Stargazer Inn and Suites
#47 of 56 in Monterey
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
#35 of 56 in Monterey
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Travelodge

Address: 2030 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5263
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: $59 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Bay Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bask in the sun at our Monterey Bay Travelodge hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium. Our hotel in Monterey, CA is just five minutes from Fisherman's Wharf and Pebble Beach, and only two miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Get an early morning boost with free Bear Bites continental breakfast. Before you head out for the day, enjoy a workout in our fitness center, check your email with free high-speed Internet access or prepare meals using your in-room microwave and refrigerator. After a long day of sightseeing, go for a swim in our heated seasonal outdoor pool from May to November, and doze off on your pillow-top mattress. Our pet-friendly hotel offers express checkout, guest laundry services, 24-hour front desk service and ample parking for oversized vehicles. Balcony rooms and rooms with views of the pool and courtyard are available at our hotel in Monterey, CA. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Immerse yourself in the rich heritage on the Path of History tour, where you can walk through adobe homes. Peek into one of the largest aquarium windows in the world at Monterey Bay Aquarium, and explore the underwater world of penguins, white sharks and sea otters. Browse a unique array of stores, sail through the harbor and go on a whale watching cruise at nearby Fisherman's Wharf. Enjoy fresh seafood with a scenic view at one of the many waterfront restaurants. Spend an afternoon on the greens at Pebble Beach Golf Links, or visit Point Sur Lighthouse, which stands atop a volcanic rock. DINING OPTIONS Sit back and relax with a plate of fresh sushi at Oh! Sushi Japanese Restaurant, located on-site. Enjoy tasty dishes at Chef Lee's Mandarin House, next door to our hotel in Monterey, CA. Take your family for a hearty, homecooked meal at Rosine's Restaurant, just one mile away. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES Our Monterey, California, hotel offers a business center with fax and copy services. Meeting and banquet space are also available. HOTEL INFORMATION We allow one free parking space per occupied room for special events. Please ask our staff for details on additional parking fees for special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Monterey Bay Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge
Travel Lodge Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing