We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monterey Bay Travelodge
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Good - had a room overlooking the pool, really nice, spacious and clean. Good shower. Comfy bed. Enjoyed the pool a lot, lovely and clean. Staff friendly and helpful.

Not so good - Very basic breakfast. Orange squash, not fresh orange juice. Is on the airport flight path, so very low flying planes, lots of noise.

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the pool and away from the main road and car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddy_R281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    309
    253
    114
    89
See reviews for
372
249
56
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The airplanes were a issue but that's not the hotels fault.The staff was very nice.The view of the parking lot from the room was not attractive. Overall minus the planes it was fairly quiet.The price we paid was fair.The room we had could use some updating.Only complaint would be the maids had left hair both mornings in the bathroom ,and it wasn't our hair as no one In my family has black hair or even dark hair.That was a little disconcerting.Im sorry I can't give a better review :(

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank beachgirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

the room was clean and the personnel were very friendly. We event went to breakfast (which ends at 10) at 9:55 and stayed until 10:30 and they allowed us to stay as long as we like.
The outdoors pool had cool water, & was clean. I would have used it if the weather was warmer. It is very good for a 2 star hotel, although it is a bit expensive (but all hotels there in Monterey are expensive). I forgot my coat, I called and returned back at end of day to find it with the house keeper waiting for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Shenoda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Got to the hotel w/o reservation and Tim (front desk) promptly found me a room. I asked to check the room before booking and he went with us to show the room. The room was looking new, really clean and smells good. The pool seems nice for a hotel like this. Free breakfast and good wifi also adds value. When I asked about things to do in the city Tim again was helpful. I would stay again in this hotel and would love to have other similar for the same price in my whole trip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renato1984SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel has a great location for the price and the staff are great. The sushi restaurant on sight is some of the best sushi I have ever had. Pool is heated outside. Pet friendly. The location is very close to a major highway and down town. 5 minutes from NPS.

Room Tip: Booking on line seems to give better deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeyanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Monterey
Ramada Limited Monterey
#20 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street
0.4 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Castell Motel
El Castell Motel
#28 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Travelodge

Property: Monterey Bay Travelodge
Address: 2030 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5263
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Bay Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bask in the sun at our Monterey Bay Travelodge hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium. Our hotel in Monterey, CA is just five minutes from Fisherman's Wharf and Pebble Beach, and only two miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Get an early morning boost with free Bear Bites continental breakfast. Before you head out for the day, enjoy a workout in our fitness center, check your email with free high-speed Internet access or prepare meals using your in-room microwave and refrigerator. After a long day of sightseeing, go for a swim in our heated seasonal outdoor pool from May to November, and doze off on your pillow-top mattress. Our pet-friendly hotel offers express checkout, guest laundry services, 24-hour front desk service and ample parking for oversized vehicles. Balcony rooms and rooms with views of the pool and courtyard are available at our hotel in Monterey, CA. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Immerse yourself in the rich heritage on the Path of History tour, where you can walk through adobe homes. Peek into one of the largest aquarium windows in the world at Monterey Bay Aquarium, and explore the underwater world of penguins, white sharks and sea otters. Browse a unique array of stores, sail through the harbor and go on a whale watching cruise at nearby Fisherman's Wharf. Enjoy fresh seafood with a scenic view at one of the many waterfront restaurants. Spend an afternoon on the greens at Pebble Beach Golf Links, or visit Point Sur Lighthouse, which stands atop a volcanic rock. DINING OPTIONS Sit back and relax with a plate of fresh sushi at Oh! Sushi Japanese Restaurant, located on-site. Enjoy tasty dishes at Chef Lee's Mandarin House, next door to our hotel in Monterey, CA. Take your family for a hearty, homecooked meal at Rosine's Restaurant, just one mile away. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES Our Monterey, California, hotel offers a business center with fax and copy services. Meeting and banquet space are also available. HOTEL INFORMATION We allow one free parking space per occupied room for special events. Please ask our staff for details on additional parking fees for special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Monterey Bay Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey
Monterey Travelodge
Monterey Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing