We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mix of People”

Old Monterey Farmer's Market
Ranked #27 of 103 things to do in Monterey
Attraction details
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Mix of People”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This weekly Tuesday fete should not be missed. The fresh produce, food stands, art/crafts and all the vendors provide a great backdrop for the best part, the people. If you enjoy interacting with people or just people watching this is a great opportunity. There is a mix of downtown residents, people from other parts of the Peninsula, and a good dollop of tourists to top it off. I like hanging out with the guys from Liquid Books on the NE corner of Alvarado and Bonifacio. It's like a penny cup for books; need one take one, got one give one. Across the street are Republicans and folks that like Ron Paul. Now I'm a screaming liberal but have had the nicest chats with those folks as well. Get to know the real Monterey by rubbing elbows with the locals. Oh, and the local produce is some of the best in the world!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PDIXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    17
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Out for a stroll”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Good food, nice people, lots of choices. Mexican and Greek for dinner. Samples of fruits and veggies. Yummy crepe for dessert. What a lucky accident to come upon such a great outing when out for an evening stroll!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fun, Colorful, Interesting food selection, great fresh produce”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

While visiting our son and family in Seaside, we took an evening trip to the Farmer's Market. Lots of beautiful fresh flowers and produce fresh from the field. We had fun sampling some of the locally made sauces and canned goods before taking some home. The food vendor carts had fresh cooked corn, candies, popcorn, various international dishes, etc so the aromas were wonderful. It was a fun festive way to spend the evening. Arrive before it opens as parking can be a problem.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank RiceMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuolumne City, California, United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“great vibrant colors and food”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

we were on vacation and decided to eat at the farmers market, so glad we did the different food we found were awesome, there was a huge variety and the wife and I ate them as we walked down the street buying different veggies

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank UNCLEJARHEAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twisp, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Taking a stroll”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The market is Monterey is colorful and fun. You can buy just about anything there. Fresh fruit, vegies, flowers, deserts and even dinner. The local people are friendly! The booths plentiful! Very reasonably priced products. Be sure to taste test the flavored almonds they are to die for! The hand made soaps and lotions are the best I've tried. A very relaxing way to spend the eve.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlaC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Monterey Farmer's Market also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Old Monterey Farmer's Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing