We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't bother again”
Review of Islands Restaurant

Islands Restaurant
Ranked #77 of 304 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Campton, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Wouldn't bother again”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very slow. Took an hour at 1pm to get two sandwiches served. My wife liked her Maui turkey burger. I didn't like the Toucan chicken sandwich. Fries were so dry that they left my mouth feeling as though I had been eating blotter paper.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nhraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    44
    18
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Sticky tables, unremarkable food”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Meh. Basic burgers, salads and sandwiches. We sat on the enclosed patio of this in-a-shopping-center chain-ish joint and despite the repeated efforts of the servers, could not get the sticky off the tables. Every time a wrist touched the tabletop we reached for our wet wipes. In moving two tables together we dropped a leaf -- the debris that was in the fold explained it all. Definitely an appetite killer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wordbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Atmosphere was fun. Being from Texas we enjoyed the patio and fireplace!! Service was great and food was wonderful. Definitely a fun Monterey experience!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BryceSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very average chain experience”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Island's is your chain kind of place in the shopping mall where I shouldn't have expected much more than a chain experience, and that's just what my BF and me got. Food is reasonably good, at least the burgers and salads, staff is friendly but not incredible, food is very predictable, ambience is also what you should expect, and prices are on the higher side, but not outrageous.

This is a place to go when you are over at the mall, you don't have time to go anywhere really interesting and you are willing to settle for ho-hum.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stateline, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“good for a chain”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had lunch here with family and friends. Very friendly staff.

We were seated promptly. They have a decent size menu. I had the chicken tacos along with some fries. Good portions and they had good flavor. My wife had a hamburger which was slightly undercooked from what she asked but it was still a good size and very flavorful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Islands Restaurant also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Islands Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing