We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Sandwiches and Salads, GF Diners Beware”
Review of Erik's Delicafe - CLOSED

Erik's Delicafe
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Description: You have various other locations for Erik's Delicafe listed on TA, but not the Monterey location (I believe this particular branch is a franchise). It is a really great place to eat, totally unassuming, I could have walked right by and never stopped in. Service was wonderful, food was amazing, and I think more folks visiting Monterey need to know about this location. It's really "good", delicious food that anyone can turn to if they're not comfortable with experimenting with other restaurants in the area.
Restaurant details
Description: You have various other locations for Erik's Delicafe listed on TA, but not the Monterey location (I believe this particular branch is a franchise). It is a really great place to eat, totally unassuming, I could have walked right by and never stopped in. Service was wonderful, food was amazing, and I think more folks visiting Monterey need to know about this location. It's really "good", delicious food that anyone can turn to if they're not comfortable with experimenting with other restaurants in the area.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tasty Sandwiches and Salads, GF Diners Beware”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Had lunch here. Everyone enjoyed the food. Each sandwich and salad was made fresh to order, and service was quick. If you are a gluten free diner, please beware. The website seems to say all of the right things in regard to providing a safe gluten free meal, but the staff had no idea how to do this. They reached into the GF bread bag using the same gloves they used for the regular bread, and put the bread down on the cutting surface that was covered with crumbs. That said, they were willing to start over and have me walk them through a proper procedure and I did not get sick.

They offer a good selection of sandwich choices and all of the ingredients seemed very fresh.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coffeegirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monterey
Level Contributor
182 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Love Erik's Deli”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I have been to many Erik's locations in the Bay Area. They never disappoint. That is what is so good about them. It is the consistency. Get a sandwich with character and you can't go wrong.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches, Decent Salads”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I visited Erick's deliCafe in Monterey in June of 2012 with two family members. I had a gluten free sandwich that was very good. The bread held together better than most. The amount of food between the bread was more than adequate. It was fresh and tasty.

Cole slaw - I usually love cole slaw. This was a different style from what I usually have and although it was tasty and high quality it wasn't what I was expecting.

My lunch partners enjoyed the sandwiches and salad that they had.

Service was so-so. My dining companion's salad was forgotten. Once it was brought to their attention they hopped on it.

Atmosphere was nice. The old pictures on the wall reflected the history of the town in which the restaurant was located.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tzsm98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Yummy salad and sandwich to go”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stopped in and grabbed these items before our drive home to southern CA. The food was quite good and reasonably priced.
Very convenient at the end of my walking tour of the State Historic Park buildings.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank luvtogo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
858 reviews
639 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Some good sandwiches and soups.”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Order at the counter and they bring food to you. Good bread. Average wraps and pita. I would avoid those. Three or four vegetarian sandwiches and two or three soups. Salads are fresh. Good iced tea! If you like pickles, you get a spear with your sandwich and can buy a whole big one.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hitcher84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erik's Delicafe also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing