We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Henry's Famous Barbecue - CLOSED

Henry's Famous Barbecue
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Heated, Pet-Friendly Patio. Happy Hour Mon-Fri, 3-6: $2 off all Beer & Wine, $2 off all Appetizers. 6 Beers on Tap. Henry's BBQ offers many choices of BBQ, chicken and pasta dishes in a comfortable, friendly atmosphere. Henry's BBQ serves Pork Spare Ribs, Chicken, Sirloin, Pulled-Pork and Hot Link Sausages. The BBQ sauce gets rave reviews. Juicy Burgers and Sandwiches are also on the menu. Even vegetarians can find a fantastic meal! (Eggplant Sandwich, Salad, or Pasta) Henry's BBQ is a great place to take the family as it offers a Kids Menu, has a friendly staff and reasonable prices. You can even have your dog join you on the patio! All meals available for Take-Out. Catering available
Atlanta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Outdoor seating area is nice, but doesn't have much of a view. Food was decent, with generous portions. If you're in the mood for BBQ, this place would be a good option.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KPBAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    19
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cozy and warm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

If yor looking for a nice cizy clean and intimate restaurant Henry's is the place..Nicely decorated and inviting,or waitress was friendly, I really recommend the sweet tea its magnificent the ribs were tender the sauce was good..A+

Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Older Waitress With Reddish Hair”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Despite having read various reviews I decided to give the restaurant a go. However, I was told upon entering the restaurant that seating a group of ten was beyond impossible. The waitress disappointedly went off to the move tables and continued to complain about having to serve all of us. After having arranged the tables she made various snide remarks about us and making her life difficult. After 7 minutes of waiting for her to return to take drink orders we ended up walking out. I have heard the bread pudding is amazing but the service is severely lacking. After receiving such bad service I went back for further investigations and was told a party of that size would be no issue walking in and was chuckled at for asking. I'm not sure if the waitress was having a bad day but this was definitely not place to walk in on your birthday expecting to have a good and memorable experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda052288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the hype”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We had read good reviews of this place and wanted to try it out as we love BBQ food. Our experience was "bleh" and quite a disappointment. It was especially warm that day and there was no circulation inside the restaurant...even all the windows were closed. There was only one server for the entire place, so while the server was nice, she hardly paid attention to us because she was so busy. The food was a great disappointment. My burger was way overdone and very dry. It tasted like charcoal. I would have asked for another one, but once again, we couldn't find our server. My husband's ribs had no flavor, just drenched in sauce. And for his pulled pork, he had to literally drain the fat and out of the bowl it came in. We were then charged extra for things that were supposed to be included in the meal. We hardly ever have bad experiences when we eat out, so this was a big disappointment. Will definitely not visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alliefish5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No brisket? Oh Henry...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

You can't have BBQ in your name and not serve brisket. It's un-American. I was craving BBQ and my expectations were high after I parked next to a couple of big pits with mesquite coals burning away in them. Alas, there was no brisket on the menu. They offer a sirloin butt bbq sandwich. It wasn't bad. But it wasn't slow cooked, smokey good, melt in your mouth bbq. It's food cooked over mesquite so it's tasty. But no, this is not BBQ, Henry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed_B0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henry's Famous Barbecue also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing