We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent shrimp taco and macho burrito”
Review of Pico de Gallo

Pico de Gallo
Ranked #78 of 301 Restaurants in Monterey
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
262 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“excellent shrimp taco and macho burrito”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Had lunch here over Mother's Day weekend. My wife had the shrimp taco and side of rice and I had the macho burrito. It's a small place with only a few tables and you order at the counter and then it's brought out to you. Both lunches were very good. The shrimp had an excellent flavor. The rice was tender and also flavorful. The burrito was HUGE. Beef, onions, tomatoes, rice, beans, guacamole and sour cream. I only ate half of it and brought the rest back to the motel. Service was good we didn't have to wait to long. Oh, and it's your "real" Mexican style taco with the double small tortilla shells.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kj7hz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    18
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good Value Authentic Mexican Food”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The title says it all. My wife and I had the chicken des alambre $8, a beef taco $2.50 and a beef taco gallo $3.25 for dinner. The portions were good and all the food was freshly prepared. The tacos came with a side of rice and the des alambre was accompanied by beans and rice. The beans could have a bit more flavor. The tortillas tasted fresh. The restaurant is away from touristy area but near hotels on Fremont St. No wifi.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinter17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“loved the food! it's a go!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

when we travel we like to find the hometown places to eat. location was a little hard to find even though it was on the main street. it was small but clean and we felt right at home. service was excellent and the food was well worth the visit! my teenagers loved it! it's a go.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Violets4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Holy Guacomole! - eat here!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

HatMan Geno here - and this is a good value for your eating dollars: simple, tasty, HUGE Mexican food at affordable prices (with tip, probably $10 per person). Has a small, clean, uniquely quaint and interesting décor (has a collection of metal rooster sculptures of various shapes, sizes and colors). Very friendly and accommodating owner and staff. This is a small "road house" style Mexican restaurant (the Burritos are HUGE!), perfect if you have a good appetite.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HatManGeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great restaurant - Great food...”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Discovered this jewel over the weekend. I had a shrimp taco and a chicken salad. My partner had a Carnitas burrito. For a small restaurant, the presentation was beautiful. the food was amazing and the cleanliness was notable. I'd definitely go back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pico de Gallo also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Seaside, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Pico de Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing