We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointed!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
1 review
“disappointed!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

Room was small and there really isn't a lounge area as I read about. They call the seating area to the right of check-in "a lounge".Crab cakes served there had little to NO CRAB and they offer a Chex Mix to fill your tummy. I will not be returning when I attend the Pro-AM next year!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RP111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    744
    238
    77
    33
See reviews for
625
1,072
84
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

Room was ok, staff ok. Not great, not horrible. Sink very shallow in vanity so water easily spills over if you want to actually use it as a sink. Sound totally carries from room to room - sometimes TMI if you know what I mean. Could hear couple next to me into the night.

But parking spaces were small. I drive a Prius and no matter where I parked (moved several times), my car was dinged or scraped twice. Of course the other driver left no note.

Lots of people staying here have big SUVs or trucks, which is fine, but the spaces are too small - sized appropriately for compacts. I moved my car several times but of course cannot control what big vehicle might pull in later. Lower level parking, near where you would use the elevator for one building is so tight to back out of, it invites bumper scrapes along the side of the other car.

The stress of the parking lot situation if the hotel is full, especially coming out on the last day of a 4 day stay to a visibly damaged car door, ruined any other enjoyment of the stay. Assistant manager offered sympathetic but empty platitudes and was unrealistic that the driver who dinged me would magically contact them to confess. Talked about me spending $250 to get my car detailed to minimize the visible damage, but then offered no credit on the room. This trip was an expensive lesson in how uncaring big vehicle drivers are.

I guess if you are wealthy enough not to care about the cost of repairing scratches to your car finish (under my $1000 deductible), this is an okay place to stay. Remember, some car insurance policies do not cover "hit and run."

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueskiescc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

Two girlfriends and I made plans to attend the AT&T ProAm, and I was put in charge of finding accomodations. I took a risk and used an online hotel finder for the first time - and what a jewel we were given in the Hotel Abrego! We were royally treated to a warm, friendly, and helpful staff, sparkling clean and inviting rooms, super comfortable sleeping arrangements, tasty choices in their morning breakfast buffet and happy hour wine bar menu, easy walking access to the Wharf, the AT&T Shuttle, Del Monte Shopping Center, and driving Hwys 1 & 68. As women travelling on our own, the good lighting, close-in parking, and secure buildings made us feel safe and secure. And best of all, it was v-e-r-y affordable. We highly recommend Hotel Abrego; thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvToTravelSFNatv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANCASTER
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

Hotel decor is very appealing. Room was small, but high quality, tastefuly decorated. Service quick and with smile. Bed very comfy. Bathroom beautiful. Close in, walking distance to Monterey attractions. Buffet Breakfast was good value, lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries, bagels, pancakes, ham/eggs, bacon,sausage, cereal potatoes. Nice to eat by fireplace in lounge.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamafunkymusik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

Rooms are nice and clean. Although I booked the deluxe room without a fireplace, I was upgraded to a fireplace room without asking. Because the location is in downtown Monterey and not in the more touristy Fisherman's Wharf or Cannery Row the parking is free ($20 or more elsewhere) and slower speed internet is also free (fine for casual browsing). Was able to get a last minute 25% off deal so it was only $104 for a Saturday night just before Super Bowl and AT&T Golf tourney about to begin the area. There are Chinese and Mexican restaurants right across the street, Denny's down the block, Jack-in-the-Box up the block and a Catholic Church 1 block away. If you don't absolutely need to stay in the Wharf area, I suggest saving $100-$200 a night and stay here.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roshambo1-2-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

Great location to Monterey and Carmel. Staff is very attentive and friendly. One of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in at a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaTraveler1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

Stayed for two nights this february with my family and my sister. Rooms were great. I like wood and the design was perfect. Bathroom was big. But the best of all was the service. Everyone was nice specially the lady in the reception who we talked to for 2 nights. She even helped print our boarding passes.

The lady in the restaurant was also great. They helped make our trip enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiddysPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Property: Hotel Abrego
Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing