We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay anywhere else”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We have been coming to this hotel; it was previously called the Sanddollar Inn, for over 8 years now. The remodeling project came out fantastic and the rooms have been very much upgraded. We are highly pleased with the service and the overall accomodations.

We will continue to patronize Hotel Abrego.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djrvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,167 - 2,173 of 2,493 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2010

This is a great option for those looking for a hotel in Monterey. We usually stay in the usual Cannery Row or Downtown Locations and were surprised to find a nice option in this location. It was affordable yet a very beautiful room with great service. We stayed in a deluxe queen room with fire place and private little patio. It was quiet and decorated very nicely. The staff took care of us very nicely. The walk to downtown was only 5 minutes and the boardwalk, another 5 minutes from there. Free parking was an added bonus. We found a nice deal with Expedia. (We did not take advantage of the meals offered but saw other guests enjoying the happy hour and breakfast.)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deladunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Hotel Abrego was a real surprise. We were concerned due to the bargain price in Monterrey. Surprise! Fabulous room, very comfortable bed, modern shower and two sinks, great desk for work, pleasant staff and conveniently located close to Highway One and Old Town.
Only downside was breakfast. Yet, we found two great "local" establishments the next two days.
Hotel Abrego should be on your short list if visiting Monterrey.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shuttrrbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We arrived in Monterey a day early with nowhere to stay and we found the Abrego thinking it would be too expensive for us. I was shocked by how affordable this beautiful hotel is. HUGE room, HUGE bathroom with out own balcony off it. Beautiful restaurant/ bar. The staff were very very nice!!

It is a little far from the touristy area like Cannery Row, but a 5-minute walk to the main street area. And there's a free trolley anyway.

The only bad thing was because of the layout of the motel, wifi didn't work in my room (we were down some concrete stairs) and when I called the desk they told me to reboot my computer (lol). They need to look into that because it was majorly inconvenient.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian09876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

This was a surprisingly luxurious hotel with excellent staff and service. Despite being at a busy corner and overlooking a Mercedes dealership, our large room - an upgraded deluxe queen with a fireplace - was very quiet and had a very comfortable bed and sofa plus a large flat screen tv and compact kitchen facility. The dining area in the lobby was small, but adequate and breakfast was not extensive, but well presented and served. The pool was private and looked good, although it was too foggy to use it when we were there. The location is close to restaurants and shops, but away from the Cannery Row noise. Overall, an excellent choice for someone looking for great quality at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

we stayed for one night and were really impressed. A lot of money has clearly been spent here and has been spent in the right places. Its kind of a motel lay out with rooms in separate buildings with open walkways to get to them. Was a bit concerned as we went up the stairs but was really happily surprised!
we had a huge room which overlooked the pool ( which the kids really enjoyed) and it was fab. Very smart decor, comfortable beds and and a great bathroom with lovely tiled floor. Very contemporary and nice.

The lobby area was good with a small restaurant- breakfast was an absolute bargin and pretty good quality- the only thing was there was quite a wait for them to clear an empty table for us to sit at as there was only one person serving and she was rushed off her feet. But other than that small thing it was great.
Location wise it isn't right amongst all the tourist things but Monterey is a small town and it takes no tume at all to get to downtown or Cannery Row area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmumatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Really enjoyed all aspects of the hotel
The fireplace and upscale bed and bath was great. Walked to the wharf and Old town.
Would definitely stay again!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpugmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,000 reviews
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $154 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing