We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service, very average location.”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2010

The rooms themselves were the best thing about our experience. Spacious with very comfortable bed. Location of the hotel left much to be desired (the three other corners at the intersection housed 2 gas stations and a car dealership). The staff were rude and not at all helpful. We would not return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fernelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,221 - 2,227 of 2,543 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2010

After spending 10 days touring California, this was the nicest room of our entire trip. Lovely decor: ice fireplace, large flatscreen TV, beautiful bath. Nice people working here. We were on second floor and the guy who checked us in carried our luggage up for us. He gave us good tips on where to go for drinks. We were awakened early by the Loud Family in the hall. My friend stuck her head out the door and admonished them - Go Michelle! I think the breakfast was extra so we didn't eat here. The lobby was beautiful as well.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBirdNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here over Fourth of July weekend and we had such a great time. We didn't plan on doing a lot of touristy things, we just wanted to relax. This hotel was perfect for us. We rode our bikes everywhere we needed to go and everything was about a 5 minute bike ride away. It was very easy to check in. We had our bikes attached to our car, we did have them locked, but still felt that they would be safe in the parking lot. Very nice rooms and the beds were amazing. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kktanghal90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

My Wife and I stayed here for two nights on our Fly-Drive Honeymoon from LA to San Francisco.

Surprisingly small and the dinner menu was a little limited if I am being honest, but breakfast buffet was ample. Service was impeccable from all staff who were incredibly friendly and helpful.

I had trouble connecting to the free Wi-Fi in our room but it worked fine in the lounge and restaurant.

The rooms are beautifully finished and very comfy. Slick, modern design and lovely colour scheme. Plenty of room even though we had a smaller one and could have happily stayed in all day if Monterey wasn't such a great place!

It was a wonderful stay and the hotel should be very successful in the future. We would certainly stay there again and highly recommend it!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex-cameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

The room itself has beautiful decor. Loved the fireplace. Bathroom shower still had a couple of hairs from previous guest. Beds were just ok. Restaurant in hotel had decent food but took over an hour to come. We were tried and hungry. It felt like forever to us. There was a large family in the room next to us that were very noisey late at night and early the next morning. And the stairs were used by people who dragged there luggage down. I wondered if there was no elevator. We returned to the restaurant in the morning and were turned away as they were "out of breakfast" food.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsmireya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

We stayed here for one night on a fly-drive holiday. It is a nice looking hotel with buildings arranged around a square car park.
Check in was easy and we were given a room on the lower level of one of the blocks. The room was very nicely fitted out but the outlook did not seem as nice as those overlooking the central area or those overlooking the small pool.
We had dinner in the restaurant but that was a disappointing experience - very limited menu and slow service.
We slept well except for a noisy lorry on the back road we overlooked.
Despite the poor restaurant service for dinner we decided to have the buffet breakfast and that was much better. The young lady kept us well supplied with coffee and orange juice.
On checking out I asked for some advice about driving down Highway 1. The guy on reception gave us a map and also marked on the map the good places to visit and where to eat - very good advice which we followed on our drive south.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_T2646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

What a fantastic stay! Hotel Abrego has a great location. Close to all the things you want to do on the Monterey Peninsula. Near shopping, the Monterey beaches, Wharf, Canary Row, and just a short drive to Carmel, Pebble Beach, and Big Sur.

We've stayed at the hotel before and after the remodel, and all I can say is WOW! What an improvement. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable, and stylish. We even had an ocean view, balcony, and fireplace.

The staff was very pleasant to deal with. We were met with smiles, and promptly able to check into our room. The hotel breakfast was delicious and fairly priced, so was the lounge for a glass of wine after dinner. Also, the free internet was a great bonus! We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordandavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,011 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $155 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing