We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Pluses were: large room, nicely decorated, comfortable beds, overall clean. Some housekeeping issues - dirty towels from prior guest under the outer sink, toilet paper doled out a role at time. Maid wouldn't take tip left out daily. Stairs and no elevator. I did tell the hotel and they said they would talk with staff and I did their survey and manager said he was speaking with staff so they were responsive to issues.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank logansrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars S, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Logansrun,
Thank you for your feedback, it is very important to us that guests leave honest feedback as we know we are not perfect. I am pleased that your request was followed up on right away.
We hope to see you again soon when in beautiful Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,169 - 1,175 of 2,494 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great location and wonderful staff!! Our room was huge and the only draw back was it was next to the ice machine. Food in the dining room is excellent and Jose and Michelle are an asset to the service. We look forward to another visit next July.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the ice machine and pool. If you have children, perhaps you wouldn't m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 7,171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars S, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear 7171,
Thank you for your great comments, I always appreciate hearing that the staff was wonderful and that they tool care of your needs.
Please come visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The hotel is nice, clean, has nice bathroom, and our room had a fireplace. It is about a 10 minute walk from downtown and the wharf which was convenient enough and didn't require us to fight or pay for the very limited parking that exists. It is not walking distance to Cannery Row or the Aquarium. It has a nice pool and hot tub that are comfortably heated. Yes, the walls and floor insulation was on the lighter side, but we didn't find it a major problem even though the hotel was fully occupied. The biggest issue is that we didn't know that not all rooms have AC. During a July stay the weather was fairly warm day and night. The only way to cool down to sleep was to open the window (which didn't feel very secure), but with the blinds pulled, it really didn't bring in much air. We did ask for a fan, which helped. But, with the window open, you will hear everything outside (guests coming and going, and the early rising noisy birds that are prevalent in any coastal area). I probably would have rated this a 4.5 or 5 for a room with AC.

Room Tip: If you expect AC, make sure you ask for a room with AC. Not all have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars S, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Mark R,
Thank you for the kind words on Hotel Abrego, I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that you will be back again next time yo are in Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were on a trip from San Francisco to San Diego and stayed at Hotel Abrego for a couple of nights. It was ideal for this purpose. Our room was overlooking the pool and was quiet. The customer service is excellent. A great area to visit.

Room Tip: Top floor room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cindy1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

A no frill clean and safe room in what can be an expensive town. Nice little pool outside. Parking spaces small and difficult to negotiate even for a good driver. Had no need to ask for service other than checking in and out.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JDSM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel was very loud. Every footstep from the above room made the our room shake. You could also hear the bed from above creak. Our room was at the bottom of a steep, dark staircase. At one point, there was a guy standing at the top of the staircase asking where to find a pay phone. Given the location of the staircase, and the odd request (no one uses pay phones especially if you can afford to stay in a pricey hotel),it did not make us feel safe. I mentioned the problems to the staff but they did not seem to care aside from a cursory apology.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ebm256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars S, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear ebm256,
Thank you for your feedback, I apologize for not returning a response until now. I also apologize for the unpleasant stay you had with us. Please feel free to call me directly as I would like to discuss your visit in detail.
831-324-4615

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband booked a Valentine's Day Special that we had to postpone due the East Coast snow storm. They hotel rescheduled our stay for a later date with no issues. Hotel was very nice inside and out. Free Parking a huge plus! Convenient location within a short distance walk to Fishermans Wharf and drive to Cannery Row. Our room was very clean and cozy. Loved the fireplace and open balcony. Unfortunately our room was located next to the housekeeping and all we heard was their door opening and closing constantly. We had a issue with staff coming into our room twice. Just walked right in as we were sitting there! No knock! They were delivering our fruit basket and the second time wine. Good thing they came baring gifts!!! Overall our stay was very nice with a few exceptions!

Room Tip: Request room away from housekeeping location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,000 reviews
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $154 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing