We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience and comfortable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Abrego

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great experience and comfortable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had booked this hotel in advance and made the decision to stay by reviews on trip advisor. The staff were very helpful and professional. Cannery row was just a nice walk away. The price of the room was reasonable and fair compared to other hotels closer to Cannery row.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you flyn h for the great review of your stay at Hotel Abrego! Doing research about hotels in Monterey can definitely help narrow down the many choices available; we're glad you chose to stay with us. We hope to see you back at Hotel Abrego next time you find your way to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,084
    726
    231
    73
    32
See reviews for
596
1,054
83
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hotel is beautiful from arrival. The front desk was very helpful and check-in and check-out was very efficient. Alden at the desk was especially very welcoming and eager to help in any way. It's location is very central and an easy walk to nice restaurants and a quick drive to the aquarium! Room was very spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable.

The restaurant had an amazing breakfast. I would definitely recommend the crab cakes eggs benedict and the oatmeal creme brulee! It was truly a great stay. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Premier Fireplace King rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maiacapello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you maiacapello for the wonderful review! It's great to hear you enjoyed our central location, and our breakfast! Bistro Abrego serves some great dishes for both breakfast and dinner. We look forward to your return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Nice, comfortable hotel with well-appointed, newly-renovated rooms. Located near Fisherman's Wharf in the downtown Monterey area, it was easy to drive to. It's not walking distance to Cannery Row or the Aquarium, however. We will stay here again on our next visit to the Monterey Peninsula.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drmcdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you drmcdon! We are located just a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, and 1.5 miles (approx 1/2 hour walk) to Cannery Row. We look forward to your continued patronage at Hotel Abrego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Very nice one stay. We stayed here last week for one night and we booked it as a walk in. The front desk agents are very professional and courteous. We decided to eat in the the restaurant because of the happy hour special and when we checked in the front desk agent offered us a coupon for a free appetizer. Our food was very good. My husband ordered the ribeye and I had the ratatouille. The dining room was very relaxing with the fireplace. The bldg we were in nearest to the front lobby did not have airconditioning and was getting a little warm so I called the front desk to ask about it and with in a couple of minutes someone had brought us a fan. We opened the door to help cool it off but it was a little noisy so prefered using the fan. I would imagine in the summer this could be a problem staying in this building. This hotel is also a block away from San Carlos Cathdral the oldest stone building in California and the second mission. It is absolutely beautiful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nutmegan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you Nutmegan01 for sharing your wonderful experience at Hotel Abrego with our fellow Trip Advisor readers. It's great to hear of guests coming to enjoy the historic aspects Monterey has to offer. Regarding warm weather, we do not offer A/C in all of our guest rooms. With temperatures quickly rising, we are looking into options which will allow us to improve the guest experience. We hope to see you back at Hotel Abrego soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay! I was blown away by the wonderful staff and clean rooms. Just a short walk to downtown Monterey. There is a small workout room and a business center which is free. Even a nice happy hour at the bar. I have stayed in Monterey many times and this is now my favorite spot.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteelerJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you SteelerJeff for your fantastic review! We are glad you found Hotel Abrego to suit your traveling needs. We look forward to your future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Very clean and comfortable, modern rooms. We stayed there in January 2014, in four people - with wo kids. We are surprised by how comfortable and modern the rooms are.
Very happy to have chosen this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaDondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you AnaDondon for sharing Hotel Abrego as a "Great Hotel" destination in Monterey. Keep us in mind for your future travels back to the states!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Our hotel room was exceptionally clean, large, comfortable and modern. We didn't miss a fireplace. We were so impressed and will certainly return to this hotel. Thank you to the entire staff, who made our stay a wonderful and exceptional experience. This hotel should be rated as a 5 Star hotel.

Room Tip: We recommend room #1301, corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you Agnes W for the fantastic review of Hotel Abrego! We love our guests, and love when our guests love us back! It makes our day to hear of great experiences, such as yours, at Hotel Abrego. Thank you again for taking the time to share your stay with Trip Advisor readers. We look forward to your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Property: Hotel Abrego
Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing