We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel for the Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for the Price”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

When we go to Monterey (once or twice a year). We usually stay here because the rooms are really nice, clean and well priced. I think they recently remodeled this place several years ago. They have fireplaces which make for a nice and relaxing mood. And although the pool is small...it is totally sufficient and cute. If I were just rating the staff I would give them five stars because they have always been so nice. The only reason I give it four stars is it isn't the nicest hotel in the area. We stay here because the price is the best you will get for this good a quality location and room. If you book early enough you can stay for $180/night on weekend and $160/night on weekday with a AAA discount. Other hotels in the area this quality and up go for at minimum $230 to $330/ night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmd76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you nmd76 for your continued patronage! It's great to hear you have found Hotel Abrego to be your go-to, home away from home when you visit Monterey. Thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel with fellow Trip Advisor readers. We look forward to your return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    744
    237
    77
    33
See reviews for
623
1,072
84
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Nice little boutique hotel just a mile from Fisherman's Wharf. Priced right, newly-renovated rooms, ask for one with a gas fireplace. Hot tub was hot and they have a nice little bistro which serves breakfast and dinner, and the food was great. Free parking and free Wi-Fi. Free WF was a bit too slow, but you can buy up at a minimal fee. Flat-screen TV but no digital or HDTV channels? They are also on Hotel Tonight, so ask them to match the rate. Walk to Fisherman's Wharf for great food and views. Try LouLou's Griddle in the Middle for breakfast. I just missed the Pebble Beach Pro-Am, so watch your dates when you are considering staying in this area.

Room Tip: Didn't rate the breakfast or spa (there isn't one).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLTraveler32765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you FLTraveler32765 for reviewing Hotel Abrego on Trip Advisor. Monterey has a lot of special events planned almost every weekend starting in March through October. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My family and I really thought a lot of this hotel. It is a beautiful place for an excellent rate! I would definitely come back and recommend this place to a friend. I will probably get a room with a fireplace next time just to have more space (plus our family is growing!).

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garc5544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you Garc5544 for your great review, and congratulations on your expanding family! We cater to all travelers--from business to family. We look forward to your return to Hotel Abrego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles Wine Region, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

...is the case with Hotel Abrego. It was an old downtown Monterey Hotel which has been been totally refurbished over the past couple of years and they have done a great job. Unlike other establishment renovations which sink their funds into lobbies and exteriors, this place seems to have truly undergone a thorough renovation with all new room interiors, including windows, walls, floors, and baths.

We stayed in one of the Premier Rooms, second floor, with distant views of the Bay and enjoyed our time at this location. The hotel is within walking distance of old town Monterey, State Parks, Fisherman's Wharf, and the Harbor. The staff was extremely attentive and friendly. We will visit again in the very near future.

Room Tip: Try a Premier King room with Bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelinInaDavlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you TravelinInaDavlin for your wonderful review! It's great to hear when our guests appreciate the detail that went into our remodel back in 2009. This year is our 5 year anniversary celebration, so make sure to look out for some fantastic offers! We hope to see you back at Hotel Abrego in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst driving from San Francisco to LA. The hotel is great with beautifully decorated rooms, a good central location and friendly staff. It also has a wonderful outdoor pool with a hot tub. It is well worth staying here if you are visiting Monterey. If you do visit, make sure you visit Cannery Row, drive the '17 Mile Drive' and visit nearby Carmel, as all the local scenery is breathtaking!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vb333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you vb333 for sharing your "Great hotel" Abrego review. Your kinds words are very much appreciated as well as your recommendation to fellow Trip Advisor readers. We hope to see you back at Hotel Abrego next time you visit the states!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Our family of four stayed here this past weekend. Our room was on the third floor and it faced the parking lot; I'm a light sleeper and had no issues with noise level. I was a bit hesitant when we first checked in to our room, as we heard television noises from the room next to ours--walls are quite thin. However, noise was not a problem for us. We liked that there were two sinks in the room, and having a mini fridge to stash snacks and drinks for the kids was nice. The kids thought it was neat to have a fireplace in the room too. The location was very convenient to nearby attractions (Aquarium, Wharf, Del Monte Shopping, Carmel etc). We will definitely stay here again on our next Monterey trip! [we just paid for membership to the Monterey Bay Aquarium so we'll be making a couple more trips here in the near future!!!]

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you K Y for sharing your great review of Hotel Abrego! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and are new memebers of the Aquarium! We look forward to your many return trips to Monterey and Hotel Abrego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Abrego over a weekend, and enjoyed our visit. The room was nice and had a fireplace, plus fridge, wine glasses, coffee machine and WiFi. Service was very good. Breakfast seemed pricey ($17 for eggs benedict and coffee), but there are lots of places to eat nearby. We walked 15 minutes to Fisherman's Wharf - very convenient for whale watching,etc. We were frightened (of noise) when we saw a tour bus in the parking lot, but the room was quiet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterBSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you PeterBSanFrancisco for sharing your experience at Hotel Abrego on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our close proximity to Fisherman's Wharf. We hope to see you back at Hotel Abrego next time you come down to Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,573 reviews
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Property: Hotel Abrego
Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing