We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Abrego
Nearby Hotels
The Stevenson Monterey(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monterey Marriott(Monterey)
$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$246
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Monterey Bay Lodge(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$100
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$463
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Spindrift Inn(Monterey)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa(Monterey)
$173
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Colton Inn(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monterey Hotel(Monterey)
$148
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,602)
Filter reviews
2,602 results
Traveler rating
1,330
872
275
84
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,330
872
275
84
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingcannery rownice hotelfisherman's wharfgas fireplacedowntown montereyfree parkingwithin walking distancepool and hot tublovely roomwould definitely stay here againmile driveflat screen tvbig surcalled the front deskpebble beachroad trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,408 - 1,413 of 2,602 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed here in December, 2012, and loved everything about it, so we planned another trip this year. Our room was comfortable and fairly clean, but instead of a nice Jacuzzi tub we had a pretty common tub-shower. After a day of hiking, those jets would have felt wonderful! The room's carpeting and that in the hallway looked worn and a little bit dirty. The person or persons above us seemed agitated and paced back and forth until quite late? It was a little bit disappointing. But Monterey was, as always, fun!

Room Tip: Wish I knew!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLADSENIOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you SadSenior for reviewing your stay at Hotel Abrego. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in the bathroom amenities, however we do not offer jetted tubs in any of our guestrooms. For any future inquires about in room amenities offered, please contact us directly. We hope to see you back at Hotel Abrego on your next trip to Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

You will be glad that you stayed here. The hotel and the rooms are decorated like no other that we have stayed in this price range. Great value and convenient to everything. The staff was very friendly and shared some of their apple cider on our way out after check out.

Room Tip: Floors are a little thin if you stay on the bottom floor of the main house, so you may hear your upstairs neighbor if they get a little frisky. Luckily, it did not last too long...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you Patrick A for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and were able to have some hot apple cider on your way out! We hope to seey you back at Hotel Abrego on your next trip to Monterey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My bussiness trip to monterey area on sept 2013. I stayed one night at hotel abrego.
Staff were welcoming and good restaurant. Easy walk to downtown and harbor. My room was beautiful and comfortable, fireplace&pillow top mattress and quite!. I was very pleased with my stay at hotel abrego. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xcreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you xcreative for your nice review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your business trip stay at Hotel Abrego and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Abrego on my Honeymoon.
Just loved everything.
Fast Check-in/out, friendly staff, very clean and spacious bedroom and bathroom. Stayed at the main building.
Once they knew about our honeymoon, they upgraded us to a king room with fireplace and left a card and a wine bottle for us.
Well located, with a terrific bakery just a few blocks down the street.
We don't have absolutely nothing bad to say abbout this hotel. Loved everything.
I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller20099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you traveller20099 for the "Amazing" review and congratulations on your nuptuals! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed everything during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back as a guest a Hotel Abrego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Based on Trip Advisor reviews of this property, we made a last minute reservation for our two day stay after Thanksgiving weekend on Expedia - and got a great rate. The property is very nicely maintained, with an attractive lobby and adjacent dining area. I used the gym - the normal selection of equipment - and the business center, which featured large screen PCs. Our room was spacious and quite clean. We didn't use the fireplace, but it was easy to operate. I'd have preferred a good chair to the chaise lounge, which I did not find comfortable.

The hotel was easy to find, with plentiful parking. Given that we were taking road trips to Carmel and Pebble Beach, it was unnecessary to spend more to stay closer to the attractions. Besides, Fisherman's Wharf was only a pleasant 10 minute walk, with Cannery Row another 15-20. Hint - we had a nice meal at a good price at the Chinese restaurant across the street.

We'll come back to Monterey in the next few years, and when we do, we'll stay again at the Hotel Abrego.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KansanRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you KansanRover for your wonderful review of your stay at Hotel Abrego! We offer different room types with different amenities. We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy our chaise lounge. Please call the hotel directly for your future reservations so we can put you in a room with a chair instead of the chaise. We look forward to your return in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews