We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanest room I've ever been in”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Ferriday, Louisiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cleanest room I've ever been in”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Hotel Abrego is definitely the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. The housekeeping staff is extremely professional, and actually clean the rooms every day instead of just coming in and giving your room the appearance of cleanliness like every other hotel I have been in. The rooms are also very spacious, and the other hotel staff members are courteous, and helpful as well. Overall the hotel is in a great location for all the sights of Monterey Bay/Big Sur (right near Fishermans Wharf, and a short trip to Cannery Row), and at a great value too. The hotel was a much better value than some of the major chain hotels in the area, and overwhelmingly cleaner to add to that.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rachael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you Rachael Z for your outstanding review! Your kind words will be shared amongst all of our staff here at Hotel Abrego. We are happy to have you as a continued patron, and we look forward to many more stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    792
    250
    77
    35
See reviews for
681
1,141
85
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The room was very nice and updated; it also had a fireplace. The pool and hot tub were great! The hotel is near highway one which is convenient, however it is not in walking distance of much. The restaurant at the hotel was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you Jesse729 for your "Great place" review! We look forward to your continued patronage in the future at Hotel Abrego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

After a very long trip, we were surprised by a quaint, confortable, well located hotel. Its ver close to several golf courses an shopping center. Everything is close by. Fisherman's wharf, aquarium, downtown, Cannery Row, Pebble Beach, everything you can think of is nearby. Each room has a fireplace to warm you up during chilly nights. The beds are extra comfortable. Best sleep I've gotten in a long time. I love that they are queen size beds instead of the typical double beds so you have a little more space to share if you go with the kids. The only draw back is tha the hotel is ver close to the street so don't count on having a view and once in a while you'll hear the blaring sirens of an emergency vehicle going by. All else taken into account we had a great stay. Food in the restaurant is superb! One thing though, the place does need a change in carpeting

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor overlooking the pool. Parking on the back side made it closer to rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phineas88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you Phineas88 for sharing your stay with us. Being that we are located in downtown Monterey, sometimes there are the occasional sirens. Come back and see us again next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We Stayed for four days at Hotel Abrego. It was clean and the rooms were designed nicely. The linens were very nice. We had a fireplace in the room for the chilly nights. It was a short walk to everything in Monterey and easy access to Rt 1 to drive up and down to Santa Cruse and Carmel. The service at the desk was very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your great review, Jeffrey H. We hope to see you back at Hotel Abrego in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The Hotel Abrego consists of 4 buildings that surround 3 sides of a large and convenient parking lot. From the moment you enter Building 1, which houses the reception desk and the small restaurant and bar, as well as rooms, you're impressed with the cleanliness of the reception area and the friendliness of the staff. You get the feeling it's a good place to work with high employee morale. Our room was spacious, immaculately clean and light. The bathroom was large, also immaculately clean, with a large walk-in shower and plenty of towels. The bed was hands-down the most comfortable hotel bed I've slept in. We ate breakfast there three times. The food was excellent and the service excellent plus. How many times have you had your waitress take your coffee into the kitchen and microwave it because it was getting cold?
Our waitress did just that every morning. The gym is small but has a treadmill, a stationary bike, an elliptical trainer, all with private TVs, and a weight machine. Everything you need. The pool and hot tub are also exceptionally clean as is the pool area. This has got to be the best value on the Monterey Peninsula. No more overpriced Carmel hotels for me. The Hotel Abrego will be home when I go to the Monterey area.

Room Tip: Ask for Building 1, upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasSantaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Wow! We sincerely appreciate the fantastic review you've shared with us about your stay at Hotel Abrego. Our boutique hotel is one of a kind, and we are glad you recognized all the detail that went into to making us who we are. We look forward to your continued patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Hotel Abrego exceeded my expectations in every way! Quincy at the front desk made us feel so welcome and all the lovely and thoughtful enhancements made for a wonderful stay. The rooms are tastefully decorated, very clean and immaculate. We enjoyed the remote controlled fireplace and the great food served in the restaurant. The bathroom was spacious and as everything else, beautifully decorated with a cleverly designed sink that is one of a kind. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this wonderful boutique hotel as a top choice for the discriminating traveler!

Room Tip: We loved the king bedroom with the fireplace. Try the in house restaurant, it is very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppe28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your "great find" Poppe28! I will pass on your kind words to Quincy--he is a great asset to the hotel. We look forward to your return next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I would give the Hotel Abrego a 5 because it's so peaceful and well appointed. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms, a King executive, and it was very large. The furniture and bedding were new, beautiful and clean. The reception staff could not have been nicer. When we were checking out, I questioned the amount (we had been in 5 different hotels in as many days and I got the last two hotel rates confused) and they looked it up for me, never giving me any reason to be embarrassed when I found my original reservation and found they were correct. Even after that, I was given a card and told if we came back, they would give us a 'really good' price on a room. For that part of the Monterey area (we were 20 minute walk from Fisherman's Wharf) the price we paid was very competitive.
We ate breakfast in the restaurant and the service was excellent. The food was good, too.
I only have a couple of negatives and all can probably be corrected by being in the correct room; 1) No elevator and I found the stair system sort of confusing. 2) If you are staying in the back of the property, there is that trash pickup truck that comes through at 5:30am and makes quite a bit of noise for about 15 minutes. Long enough to really wake you up. 3) We were told our room was on the top floor and we would not hear noise from above us, but even though we were in a third floor room, there was a room over us and we could hear walking noises.

Room Tip: Stay on a top floor close to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCCSCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you LCCSCO for reviewing your stay at Hotel Abrego on Trip Advisor. I apologize about the noise you encountered during your stay. We do not have any rooms above our third floor rooms. We hope to see you again at Hotel Abrego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Property: Hotel Abrego
Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing