We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Walking distance to FishermansWharf” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Walking distance to FishermansWharf”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nice and spacious room. The hotel was in walking distance to everything we wanted to see in Monterey. It is not situated on the more borring "hotelroad" further out. There was no breakfast included. The first night it was very noisy. Souded like someone was repairing furniture at 3 in the morning! Lots of noise from the floor above us, so very poor sound isolation. Second night was quiet. The carpets in the halls look a bit dirty, but the rooms seemed very clean. There was a fridge and a coffeemaker, but no tea in the room. The gass fireplace didn't work.

Monterey as a city has a lot to offer.You can easily spend 2 full days here. Aquarium, Whale watching on a boat tour, bikepath along the habour, etc etc.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room which is not on the lowest level. There is a screen door to a porch, so it feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmNaMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Trip Advisor. I apologize you were inconvenienced the first night of your stay due to noise issues. Your concerns will be addressed with the appropriate department managers to ensure improving the guest experience. We hope to see you again at Hotel Abrego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    679
    220
    69
    32
See reviews for
546
969
74
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

A great welcome by a couple of enthusiastic reception staff set the tone for this contemporary h/motel.
The room we had was modern (though being on the 2nd floor without an elevator was a bit of a hassle with our suitcases) and really nicely designed, though not huge.
It was an easy 10 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf for dinner and we felt safe both going and coming back.
Despite what the management have said in response to previous TA reviews, not having air conditioning in all the rooms (including the one we stayed in) is a mistake. It was really a bit to warm for comfort last night and we weren't told that our room was one of the ones without air at check in.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Epicurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your experience at Hotel Abrego on Trip Advisor. Walking from our hotel to the nearby sites and attractions is a great way to truly experience Monterey. Monterey has seen some great weather lately--we will take your suggestions about A/C into consideration towards improving the overal guest experience in the future. We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Abrego in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Large Room 2 king bed Easy 1 1/2 mile walk to the aquarium great price. Nice grounds, Pool stays open til 10 pm. restaurants near by. Walk up the street to the free trollie. We did hear a few fire trucks go by at night and plane. Must be near buy

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazgrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for the great review! It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay in our two queen bed room and took advantage of the close walking distance to downtown Monterey and Cannery Row. We hope to see you again when you find yourself back in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel was a huge hit with our son, largely because the double queen room had plenty of space, comfy beds, a fire, a TV, and a sofa! The room was neutrally and tastefully decorated, with a contemporary feel, and beds were soft and welcoming. Reception staff were courteous and helpful, and the hotel's location (a few minutes' walk from the centre of town, rather than the touristy area by the bay) was handy for restaurants and transport (free buses to Cannery Row). For the first couple of days we were bemused by a musty smell in the room, given all the furnishings were immaculate - finally we realised that it's actually the planting outside!! Breakfast was adequate but we found it preferable to go into town after the first morning. The pool is small but deep enough to dive, and complementary towels are provided (though avoid it first thing in the morning - it's cold, try the hot tub instead!!). We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us. It's pleasing to hear your stay was an enjoyable one and you took advantage of saving on parking by riding The Wave (free trolley to Cannery Row) from downtown Monterey. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Abrego on a trip up the coast ultimately reaching Sonoma. We've stayed in Monterrey before and have had great hotel experiences, but our stay at Hotel Abrego is not one we would repeat, and certainly not for what we paid. We arrived late-ish to a packed hotel and were assigned a bland room facing the loading dock of the hotel next door,.At 5:30 the next morning, we awoke to idling trucks and rolling doors going up and down - over and over again. Though we had been enticed by visions of in-room fireplaces and renovated bathrooms, we had neither. I agree with the comments about the cheerful and friendly front desk staff. Same friendly front desk staff didn't ask, "How was your stay?" after seeing the room number on the key at checkout -as they probably already knew. If you are arriving late, might be helpful to call ahead and make sure you don't get stuck with this lackluster room...

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with Windows not facing the central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear your stay was less than expected. While our Abrego rooms have upgraded amenities and furnishing, our Deluxe and Premier rooms are the only room types that are equipped with gas fireplaces. I hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Loved the hotel. The interior of the room was very and quiet. Stayed in room with 2 queens and still lots of room. No elevator to the 2nd floor so be prepared to walk. Location was great so you could walk to eat or to the wharf.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkbourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We are glad you had a great experience with us at Hotel Abrego. Two of our four buildings have elevators. If you have trouble walking up or down stairs, just request a room in a building with an elevator and we will try our best to accommodate such a request. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

The only hotel on the west coast I have wanted to return to. We stayed one night on our way up to SF. It was just as good as 3 years ago. It's quite pricey but really cosy and modern at the same time. Toiletries could be a bit nicer, but the town guide was informative and helpful, even had a religious services list. The shower was good and lovely crisp satin cotton sheets and divert cover. The coffee in the room sucked, but that's America for you, I suspect. Chris at reception was just so friendly we were made to feel really welcome - thank you!

Room Tip: Go for the larger size room: worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMMLDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We appreciate your great review of Hotel Abrego! Thank you for being a loyal guest and we look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Property: Hotel Abrego
Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing