We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & Clean”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly & Clean”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Really a great hotel. Everyone we encountered was super friendly and it was an overall great experience. No complaints whatsoever. Conveniently located close to either the mall area or to downtown or the beach. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear rbg22,

Thank you for great comments on TripAdvisor! We look forward to your stay in the future.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,173
    767
    244
    77
    34
See reviews for
658
1,113
85
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2013

What a beautiful hotel. We arrived at the hotel directly from the airport at noon. We had traveled from the East Coast so I was ecstatic when the front desk attendant was able to check us in early. Our deluxe king sweet was cozy and warm. The fireplace was a romantic touch and easy to use. The bathroom had a modern feel including a tiled shower with glass door. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is within walking distance to a lot of cute restaurants, a coffee house, a fantastic french bakery, an organic grocery store, a great nail salon (We were in town for a wedding so I needed a mani/pedi and didn't have to go far to find one), and the Wharf. We would stay there again whenever we are in Monterey.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMD757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear AnnaMD757,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Abrego during your Monterey visit. We are glad you enjoyed our convenient location and our "great boutique hotel". We look forward to your next visit!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

had a great stay at he hotel, all facilities were good and the location is excellent. their customer service was so good and they were very accommodating.
whilst not the best pool, it was certainly pleasant. The hot tub was hot! but that is nice when you just want to relax. Plent of parking

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_C1061561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Dave_C1061561,

Thank you for sharing your "Great Stay" at Hotel Abrego! We hope you will stop for a visit next time you are in the states.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We chose Hotel Abrego based on the tripadvisor ratings and were even more pleased than we expected! Excellent customer service - we had several special requests(a quiet room and a late check-out) and we were perfectly accomodated on both. Also, the cafe is very pleasant for a happy hour beverage - again, lovely service! Truly a wonderul place to stay and a great value with AAA/AARP discount.

Room Tip: Ifyou want a quiet room, ask for 2nd floor in building 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xoxo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear xoxo27,

At Hotel Abrego, we enjoy interacting with our guests to ensure their needs are met. Happy hour is new at Bistro Abrego, and we are glad you had a pleasant experience with us! Stop by for another stay, next time you are in Monterey.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Driving in my wife and I simultaneously said "Kinda cute!". The entry canopy and two story buildings hark back to Monterey's Spanish heritage. The lobby has a warm contemporary feeling which left high expectations for the room. A small ground floor patio outside the deluxe king fireplace suite was a pleasant surprise and the bed was very comfortable, but there are a few odd details that work against comfort. For instance, the sofa opposite the fireplace seats one and the only other seats are 2 stools. The mirror is over the fireplace and not over the desk which make putting on make up awkward. The wheel chair accessible shower lets water run into the room which makes the tile floor slippery. There's little counter space at the bathroom sink which is only about 1" deep. I could go on, but being an architect, this room has some annoying features. Still our stay was very acceptable and a relatively good value.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martin100852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Martin100852,

A pleasant surprise is always a good thing! Hotel Abrego was designed with every detail in mind. We appreciate your sharing your concerns during your stay at Hotel Abrego and will take your comments into consideration when making changes to improve the overall guest experience.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a recent business offsite I planned. The sales staff was extremely easy to work with and worked within my budget. The rooms are tastefully appointed, clean, and have a fireplace in room. The meeting space had a new, large flat screen TV with easy laptop hook up. The breakfast they served was actually really tasty - the fruit bowl is one of my favorite here, it was super fresh and full of berries, melons, grapes (I know, really random, but the quality of a bowl of fruit actually speaks a lot to a restaurant's quality). They also had this amazing creme brulee oatmeal. Who knew? Never had it anywhere else before.

The hotel is within walking distance to many parts of Monterey (restaurants, the wharf, etc). It's not walking distance to the aquarium but it's a quick five minute drive away. They also have free parking too =).

Thanks again for a great offsite!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Katherine P,

Hotel Abrego caters to all types of travelers and we are glad you found your business trip easy and pleasant. Guests are our number one priority and our staff works hard to ensure a satisfying stay. We hope to see you at Hotel Abrego for your future business (and leisure) trips!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

The rooms at this hotel are very pleasant. The decoration is comfortable and modern, and all the fireplaces are a great touch (in my room they doubled as the heat source). The location is great if you're exploring the area. It is easy on and off of Hwy 1 but certainly not close enough to hear it. There is free, abundant parking, and you're only about a mile from Cannery Row. Carmel is only about a 5-7 minute drive away. Compared to the Cannery Row area hotels, this is easily the best value in Monterey.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Brian B,

We aim for happy, satisfied guests! Thank you for sharing your "very pleasant" stay with us on TripAdvisor. Stop by for another visit next time you are in Monterey.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Property: Hotel Abrego
Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing