We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kinda cute!”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
San Bruno, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Kinda cute!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Driving in my wife and I simultaneously said "Kinda cute!". The entry canopy and two story buildings hark back to Monterey's Spanish heritage. The lobby has a warm contemporary feeling which left high expectations for the room. A small ground floor patio outside the deluxe king fireplace suite was a pleasant surprise and the bed was very comfortable, but there are a few odd details that work against comfort. For instance, the sofa opposite the fireplace seats one and the only other seats are 2 stools. The mirror is over the fireplace and not over the desk which make putting on make up awkward. The wheel chair accessible shower lets water run into the room which makes the tile floor slippery. There's little counter space at the bathroom sink which is only about 1" deep. I could go on, but being an architect, this room has some annoying features. Still our stay was very acceptable and a relatively good value.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martin100852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Martin100852,

A pleasant surprise is always a good thing! Hotel Abrego was designed with every detail in mind. We appreciate your sharing your concerns during your stay at Hotel Abrego and will take your comments into consideration when making changes to improve the overall guest experience.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,173
    767
    244
    77
    34
See reviews for
658
1,113
85
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a recent business offsite I planned. The sales staff was extremely easy to work with and worked within my budget. The rooms are tastefully appointed, clean, and have a fireplace in room. The meeting space had a new, large flat screen TV with easy laptop hook up. The breakfast they served was actually really tasty - the fruit bowl is one of my favorite here, it was super fresh and full of berries, melons, grapes (I know, really random, but the quality of a bowl of fruit actually speaks a lot to a restaurant's quality). They also had this amazing creme brulee oatmeal. Who knew? Never had it anywhere else before.

The hotel is within walking distance to many parts of Monterey (restaurants, the wharf, etc). It's not walking distance to the aquarium but it's a quick five minute drive away. They also have free parking too =).

Thanks again for a great offsite!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Katherine P,

Hotel Abrego caters to all types of travelers and we are glad you found your business trip easy and pleasant. Guests are our number one priority and our staff works hard to ensure a satisfying stay. We hope to see you at Hotel Abrego for your future business (and leisure) trips!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

The rooms at this hotel are very pleasant. The decoration is comfortable and modern, and all the fireplaces are a great touch (in my room they doubled as the heat source). The location is great if you're exploring the area. It is easy on and off of Hwy 1 but certainly not close enough to hear it. There is free, abundant parking, and you're only about a mile from Cannery Row. Carmel is only about a 5-7 minute drive away. Compared to the Cannery Row area hotels, this is easily the best value in Monterey.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Brian B,

We aim for happy, satisfied guests! Thank you for sharing your "very pleasant" stay with us on TripAdvisor. Stop by for another visit next time you are in Monterey.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The room we had was only $20-30 more expensive than those at the surrounding economy hotels. For that little extra cost, we got a room ten times nicer than the economy hotels we'd be staying at previously. The furniture, amenities, towels, etc were all elegant and of high quality. Even had robes and a fireplace! The staff was also very friendly and helpful, despite that we had just arrived from a hiking trip and weren't at our most presentable. Definitely worth that small amount of extra money. Will stay at the Abrego again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxtrotPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear FoxtrotPortland_OR,

At Hotel Abrego, we pay attention to the details that adds the extra touch every guest needs. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back and see us again!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife isn't fond of outside corridors, so the Abrego didn't cut it with her, I'm afraid, but I thought it was decent enough. I particularly liked the full size desk but felt the fireplace we had would have been better replaced with air-conditioning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loseapoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear loseapoint,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at our hotel. We have both indoor and outdoor corridors, and try our best to accommodate our guests needs and special requests. We hope to see you again at Hotel Abrego!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I realize that the weather in Monterey is generally mild and air conditioning may not be needed for most folks. Well it was pretty humid/muggy and rainy the first two nights we were here and ac would have been more than welcome. I woke up sweating because the blankets are far too thick for this weather without cold air. This also kept the bathroom damp after hot showers, which was unpleasant when multiple people needed to get ready.

We booked the upgraded (Premier) room and assumed because we were paying extra it would have ac... we were wrong, and I think this should be made clear when booking. I would probably stay here again, but I would make sure to get a room with air conditioning. We slept with the window open and it seemed like the breeze refused to come in. In the morning we would be woken up by the loud streets, hotel parking lot and birds.

There is no vanity in this hotel. We had three people in out room and getting ready in the morning was a huge pain. There are two outlets in the bathroom but there is no counter, only the sink. The room had a huge desk with outlets but no mirror. The hotel really should add a mirror over the desks in the room. Bizarre thing not to have space to do your hair or makeup.

I personally liked the beds. They are a bit firm but very comfortable. The rooms were well kept, clean and relatively modern. No complimentary breakfast at this hotel but Denny's is just across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for AC and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bamoram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Bamoram,

Unfortunately, only some rooms have A/C at Hotel Abrego. As you stated, Monterey has very mild weather year round and A/C is very rarely needed, if at all. We apologize that our accommodations did not satisfy your needs. We hope you will think Hotel Abrego next time you are in the area.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
2 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Where do I start?
Bed was so hard, All Bath Tissues, and rolls were some of the thinest and roughest we had ever seen. Towels were thin and rough as well. Toilet bowl had Comet green streaks in it the whole time we were there. No bellman, or Vallet. limited parking. had to leave room furnace fan on at night to drown out noise from other rooms and street, shower drain was loud like a manhole drain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Michael B,

We apologize we did not meet your expecations during your stay. We aim to please every guest, and we hope you will give us another chance to make it up to you next time you are in the area.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Property: Hotel Abrego
Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing