We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctive, good location, comfortable”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Distinctive, good location, comfortable”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our trip along Route 1 to San Francisco. The room was spacious and comfortable, and it was nice to have a fire in the room apart from the usual noisy air con unit. We were in one of the outside blocks so access from the car park was good.

The pool was a nice addition for the kids, and the on site laundry gave us a chance to wash some clothes after being on the road for several days.

The staff were helpful and pointed me in the direction of the post office and recommended a very nice bakery next door.

We didn't eat on site as we picked a local fish restaurant from reviews on Tripadvisor.

If returning to Monterey I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Gavin C,

We agree--our convenient location is close to many features in Monterey. Our on-site amenities, such as the pool and laundry facilities, add to the overall guest experience. Thank you for sharing your comments and we look forward to seeing you again!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,200
    789
    249
    77
    35
See reviews for
676
1,139
85
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel looked very nice on both the outside and inside. The rooms were very spacious (our travel companions had a fireplace in their room). There was 4X4 "balcony" (standing room only) outside the bathroom.

The location was great. A shot hop from Rt. 1, fisherman's wharf, a shopping area with a Whole Foods and Carmel. We stayed on a Sunday (March 24th) so the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doogerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Doogerdog,

Thank you for sharing your review with us and the TripAdvisor community. We apreciate your kind comments and look forward to seeing you again if you stop through Monterey!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We (family of 4) stayed in the Hotel Abrego in December 2012 whilst on holiday in California. Our adjacent rooms were on a lower level behind the main reception area.

The rooms were spacious and well furnished, complete with large flatscreen TV and gas fires. The bathrooms were also well appointed.

Parking was plentiful, and the hotel is within walking distance of the main shopping area and harbour, though a good (but nice) walk (or drive) from Cannery Row. The reception staff were efficient and friendly.

We didn't eat at the hotel though breakfast (not included in room rate) was served just off the main lobby. (For a delicious breakfast, try the Paris bakery which is a short distance way; their almond croissants are to die for).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plus2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Plus2012,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Abrego! Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hotel Abrego is really gorgeous on the outside(pictures don't do it justice). You can tell that a lot of care is taken to keep the entrance clean & attractive. Also, lots of free parking-no fighting for parking spaces here! We were checked in to #1203 on 2nd floor of the main building which was disappointing as I had emailed several times prior to arrival & thought we were all set for a top floor room. However, 1203 was a lovely, large room so we decided to let it go and not make an issue out of the goof up. This room had lots of floor space, king bed, chaise, sliding glass doors leading out to a balcony with a teeny tiny view of the water over the tops of the buildings, gas fireplace, nice tv but limited channel selection & fuzzy picture, small refrigerator, Mr. Coffee coffeemaker and a large lovely clean bathroom with a tub/shower combination. Unfortunately, the insulation is not so good, & we were awakened many times during the night by the sound of the squeaky bed in the room above us. Let's just say they were quite active & making the most of their hotel room!! Great for them, but we didn't really want to be a part of their activity! Because we had 2 more nights to get through here, the next morning we asked to be moved to a top floor room. We were grudgingly accommodated & put in rm #1306(i think)-this room only had a shower(would have been nice to know that prior to moving as a bathtub was something we had specifically asked for in the beginning)but once again, we decided not to make waves. This room was just like the other only a different orientation and much quieter. Mattresses in both rooms were excellent with clean, nice quality bedding-both rooms very clean with lots of plugs, iron/board, good storage space but no luggage rack. Bathrooms were clean with yummy smelling bath products, rough towels but nice "real" bathmats(like the ones you have at home, not the towel type) There was no exhaust fan in the bathrooms & the doors are those aggravating ones that close automatically, so we always had to prop the door open with something to let the steam out of the room! Had one meal in their restaurant, breakfast on the last morning-food was just okay but a step up from the Denny's across the street from the hotel. Hotel is in a good location-10 min. or so to walk to Fisherman's Wharf & 30 min. to Aquarium. If you are there on a Tuesday afternoon, make sure you take the short walk down the street & experience the Farmer's Market-it's amazing!! Staff was very courteous, very busy but not overly friendly. They have a nice map of the area that they were giving guests-we however weren't offered one & had to ask for it the next morning before we set out for the day. We did appreciate the complimentary bottle of wine(not chilled),glasses, corkscrew & card that were waiting in our room(anniversary trip)-no chocolates for us though. Overall, we had a lovely relaxing stay at Hotel Abrego & would consider staying again as we got a fantastic deal on our stay there.

Room Tip: Well, after our experience with the couple above us, I would have to say to definitely request a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stinkytoes10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear stinkytoes10,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Abrego with us and fellow TripAdvisor readers. We try our best to accommodate the needs of every guest and are glad we were able to provide a room to your liking during your Anniversary trip to Monterey. Think Hotel Abrego next time you are in town!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The pictures looked amazing for this place and the front desk staff was friendly but that is about all the good stuff at this place. The pictures do not match the room, the walls/floors are very thin, and there is construction going on nearby which made for a very early morning wake up. The hallway carpet looked dirty and stained. The bed is decent and the room itself is nice, so it isn't a bad place. The room itself was clean and the staff was nice. I went up there for my birthday and I was disappointed. Based on the price and the pictures, I thought we were getting a really nice room at a classy place and that was definitely not what we got.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Jill S,

We regret we did not live up to your expectations on your first visit to Hotel Abrego. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention as we utilize comments such as yours towards improving the guest experience. We hope the next time you are in the Monterey area you will give us another chance to make your stay an enjoyable one.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

From the moment we spoke with Michelle about our reservation, we knew we were in great hands and would have an enjoyable experience in Monterey. The property is clean, the location convenient, the beds were cozy and our room, which had a fireplace and balcony, was just what we wanted to blend business with a three day getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allfalkedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear allfalkedup,

It's wonderful to hear comments from our satisfied guests. Experiences such as yours reinforce our belief in the importance of attention to detail from accommodations to service. We look forward to seeing you on your next business trip!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Abrego on Christmas Eve, Dec. 24, 2012. The decor was lovely and the room and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were very accommodating. Great location in Monterey. I hope to stay there again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Susan E,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Abrego during your holiday vacation! December is a great month to visit Monterey to avoid the crowds and experience Monterey close-up. Our downtown location makes it easy to walk just about anywhere you need to go. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Property: Hotel Abrego
Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing