We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice hotel - just a little loud” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel - just a little loud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed here four nights in March while golfing Pebble Beach and Spyglass. The hotel is in a great location; walking distance to the wharf and a very short drive to highway 1. There's even a Denny's across the street, in case you stumble back after a night of drinking and decide an omelet is necessary before you shut it down (one of the nights I stayed was St. Patrick's Day).

The desk staff was very courteous (Patrick checked us in) and the rooms were clean, but not sparkling clean. There's a small pool and hot tub, although we had to ask for towels more than once (which the staff brought us promptly).

One downside was the noise in the room from above. I thought Michael Flatley was rooming above (is that the Riverdance guy?), but I think it was just the hallway. All three of my friends, who didn't even stay in the same wing of the hotel as me, said the same thing. It was quite loud in their rooms as well.

I got a great rate and I would stay there again, but only if they let me stay on the top floor.

Room Tip: Top floor is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deanslist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear deanslist,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at Hotel Abrego. We are happy you found our location to be convenient to everything you desired. Come back and see us again during your next golf outing!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    650
    209
    67
    31
See reviews for
530
923
72
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Took my daughter and grand daughters for a fun day and a half in Monterey and this was the perfect place for us to stay. Very friendly and helpful staff; The kids loved the pool and hot tub; We could walk to Fisherman's Wharf for dinner, then walk back and light our fireplace to take off the chill. While the granddaughters liked the pool, elevators and sunny dining room (pancakes with sprinkles for breakfast), my daughter and I especially appreciated the nice decor and the free parking. We wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBS_AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear SBS_AA,

Hotel Abrego caters to every guest; we are glad you and your family enjoyed your first stay with us. Come back and see us again for another family visit!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moscow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights with my friends in March 2013. We booked the 2 queen deluxe room and it was perfect, even though there were 4 of us in the room. Our room no.3006 was in the main building, it was of a great space, 2 real queen-size beds, gas fireplace, large clean bathroom with plenty of towels (but the quality of shower gel and conditiner seemed poor fro me). Many people here complain that you will hear every outsude noise in the room, but I can't say this, as our room was just in front of the elevator and I didn't hear any noises or sounds at all. I really enjoyed staying there, though the bed was a little tough for me (but it's just my opinion).
The location is perfect - we easiy found the place, and in the evening we walked down to the quay to a restaurant, it took no more than 5-10 minutes to get to the downtown. A very friendly woman at the reception desk advised us a good restaurant - Old fishermann's grotto - where we enjoyed both seafood and Italian cuisine (in the evening the restaurant is full, I'd recommend to book it in advance).
The breakfast at the hotel was tasty, but as for me it seemed a bit pricey - $10 for the toast or the oatmeal was too much :) But at the same time a very friendly waiter always refills your drinks free of charge.
The summaty is: if I come to Monterey once again, I'd definitely stay at Abrego! Friendly staff, nice clean rooms, great location - it's all about Abrego!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natasha v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear natasha v,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Abrego. We appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again when you return to Monterey!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just returned from a weekend in Pacific Grove, Ca. Stayed at the hotel Abrego in Monterey. We were pleasantly surprised. Our room had a fireplace with a large flat screen TV over it. Separate sink outside the bathroom was convenient. Free parking and wifi. Robes provided too. Although we did not eat breakfast there (can't miss Toasties and Hollys in PG), the eating area looked nice. Rooms are large. The pool looked nice as well. The only criticism we had were thin towels and hard pillows. The carpet was clean but looked ready to replace. Overall, we would definitely stay here again. Great location. Priced right through Travelocity.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethro313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Bethro313,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us at Hotel Abrego. We love hearing our new guest experiences. Try our breakfast next time, you won't be disappointed! We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here 2 nts last week.Celebrating our anniversary decided to go down the coast for a few days. WISH we would have stayed here the full 4 nts instead of breaking it up, but...This place was AWESOME. 1.Beautiful rooms 2.Comfortable beds 3.VERY service-oriented 4.Convenient location 5. Price was quite do-able!!I would have given it 5 stars, because it truly deserves it; but the paper thin walls were a real distraction at night when you wanted to just relax from the day.You could hear tv's, very audible conversations, etc. That said, everything else was top-notch.We got a "March Special" rate: 1st night $169.(2nd nt $129) WITH this, we got a premium king room with fireplace and chaise(small frig, desk,balcony, beautifully re-done rooms here folks!), two 2-day tickets admission to the Monterey aquarium, (we went once tho),and $20. credit to use in cafe/bistro downstairs.ONE adult ticket to the aquarium costs $34.95...so figure out the bargain! Within walking distance to the wharf. I couldnt believe it when we got there;we were very impressed.be sure to ask for the MAIN building if you can get it, (rooms are very large) and get on the top floor.oh almost forgot: Fresh apples and oranges 24/7 and coffee in the lobby :) ps-if you bike, bring it.It was So beautiful riding the bike paths along the wharf and beach.WE WILL be back for sure, thank you Abrego!

Room Tip: Ask for top floor in MAIN building.it's on street side, but you really never hear the trffic wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OceanLady96753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear OceanLady96753,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your "Perfect" stay with us at Hotel Abrego. Our March Special was a big hit with our guests, and we are happy you were able to take advantage of it. Be on the lookout for more monthly specials to come!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

A colleague and I decided to book rooms at Hotel Abrego rather than the hotel hosting the conference we were attending because Hotel Abrego was about $50 cheaper per night. The room I received was exceptionally nice with a large walk in shower, a chaise lounge and a gas fireplace. There was also a flat screen TV and iHome docking station. I only wish my work conference was longer.

Room Tip: I had room 1312 in the main building. It faced in towards the parking lot and was next to the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeritasAzure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear VeritasAzure,

Hotel Abrego is situated in downtown Monterey, which is within walking distance of many attractions, including the Monterey Conference Center. Thank you for sharing your great experience, and we hope to see you and your collegues again when work, or play, brings you back to Monterey!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We just returned from a trip to Northern California and and spent one night at Hotel Abrego on our way to Santa Cruz and San Francisco. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are spacious. The staff is very courteous and helpful. I highly recommend staying at Hotel Abrego to anyone traveling to Monterey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Sue L,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your "Wonderful Stay" at Hotel Abrego. We are happy to hear you will recommend our hotel and we welcome you back for another great stay!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Property: Hotel Abrego
Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing