We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We just returned from a trip to Northern California and and spent one night at Hotel Abrego on our way to Santa Cruz and San Francisco. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are spacious. The staff is very courteous and helpful. I highly recommend staying at Hotel Abrego to anyone traveling to Monterey.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Sue L,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your "Wonderful Stay" at Hotel Abrego. We are happy to hear you will recommend our hotel and we welcome you back for another great stay!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,603 - 1,609 of 2,579 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Monterey is filled with hotels that appeal to tourists who don't mind being fleeced...but Hotel Abrego is for the discerning visitor who is looking for luxury - at a reasonable price. (Note to Hotel Abrego - please don't hike up your rates because of my review, as your rates were what attracted me in the first place!)
The hotel is in town - in the "old"section of Monterey, which makes it a realistic place to stay. And I believe it is actually walking distance (4 blocks or so) to the wharf.
The hotel is beautiful, we had a room that provided peace and solitude. The room was beautifully appointed, the staff that I dealt with was courteous and very helpful, and the dining area and bar are very attractive. The whole atmosphere, including the beautiful outdoor pool and hot tub, made a perfect relaxing getaway. We could only stay on night, but I wish we could have stayed at least two more. When we next travel to California, we'll make it a point to return.

Room Tip: ask for the quietest location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bjdodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear bjdodger,

Thank you for taking the time to share your "perfect experience" with us and others on Tripadvisor. Hotel Abrego offers a variety of room types and rates to meet every budget, and our convenient location makes it easy to get around town on foot. We look forward to your return the next time you are in California!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spend the night on the way to San Francisco and pick this hotel, unfortunately we did not spend too much time in the hotel as we left early in the morning to soak up the town and drove the 17 miles Carmel scenic drive. We found the room to be in an excellent and very clean condition, breakfast was plentiful with variety of cold and hot dishes. Staff were also nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muhamadian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Karzack,

We are pleased to hear you found comfort in our "Spanish Hacienda" during your quick trip to Monterey. Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments. We hope to see you again.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Traveled to Monterey for the weekend with the family. This hotel offers reasonable rate and included are 2 free two-day vouchers for Monterey Bay Aquarium as well as a $20 voucher for food at the downstairs restaurant. Although it does not offer view of the water, the hotel is within walking distance of downtown. Everything at the hotel was clean and new. The pool and hot tub was very relaxing way to unwind in the evening.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuperTBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear SuperTBQ,

Thank you for taking advantage of our March Aquarium promotion! We have new promotions each month, so watch your inbox for the next one. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Abrego.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here after our visit from big sur. the hotel is located near downtown so it was easy to go from the hotel. The hotel was very clean and the ambience was good. The staff was very friendly compared to many of the hotels that I have visted. Overall I enjoyed the stay at the hotel and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shijin_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Shijin_83,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about Hotel Abrego. Customer service is our number one priority, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for recommending our hotel to others and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great hotel, friendly helpful staff, very clean and good value. Walk to town, shops, restaurants and Warf. We could see Ocean off in the distance from our nice cozy room well appointed with refrigerator and nice flat screen TV. Large clean bath room with large tub and rain shower, . Easy walk to Cannnery Row. Nice clean pool and spa, parking included. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bcal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Bcal1,

We are happy to hear you had a "Fantastic!" stay with us at Hotel Abrego. Thank you for sharing your positive comments, and we look forward to seeing you in the near future!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

It was a pleasure driving up to this hotel after our long trip from Solvang through Big Sur. The hotel was nice, but not busy when we were there, so it lacked a bit of atmosphere.
The rooms were nice, and the wifi was the best for our trip so far. Location was good, with a nearby Denny's and gas station.
We had breakfast at the restaurant which was very tasty, and a great start to the day.
The guest laundry was a little hard to find- some signposts would be helpful. A change machine would also be nice (for the quarters). It would be good if there was some information as to how long the washes would take because we had to keep going back out from our room in a different building (it was dark and cold) to see if our washing was done.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lionsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Lionsy,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us at Hotel Abrego. We are happy you took advantage of our guest laundry facilities, and will use your suggestions towards improving our guest experience in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $174 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing