We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

It was a pleasure driving up to this hotel after our long trip from Solvang through Big Sur. The hotel was nice, but not busy when we were there, so it lacked a bit of atmosphere.
The rooms were nice, and the wifi was the best for our trip so far. Location was good, with a nearby Denny's and gas station.
We had breakfast at the restaurant which was very tasty, and a great start to the day.
The guest laundry was a little hard to find- some signposts would be helpful. A change machine would also be nice (for the quarters). It would be good if there was some information as to how long the washes would take because we had to keep going back out from our room in a different building (it was dark and cold) to see if our washing was done.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lionsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Lionsy,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us at Hotel Abrego. We are happy you took advantage of our guest laundry facilities, and will use your suggestions towards improving our guest experience in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,456)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Abrego
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,493 - 1,499 of 2,456 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very modern and quiet room with very comfortable beds along with chaise and fireplace. Rain style shower and large tub were very relaxing. Room had a refrigerator, but didn't have a vending machine for soft drinks or water in the wings opposite main building (where we stayed).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FancyNancy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear FancyNancy_10,

Thank you for sharing your comments about our "very nice accommodations". We do have a restaurant, Bistro Abrego, that offers beverages for purchase. We hope to see you next time at Hotel Abrego!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked here as a last minute getaway over President's Day weekend! I guess we got very lucky because the place ended up sold out! Our room was in the main building and was surprisingly quiet! The rooms were clean and well appointed. Our room had a large bathtub which isn't the norm, so if you want one you should be sure to ask. Our friends room only had a shower. The fireplaces were nice, but again each room had a different operating control that was not easy to work. We finally had to call the front desk at 11pm to get the fireplace to stay on and the lady who came up was none to happy about having to fiddle with our fireplace. When I said my friends was on a timer, could it be switched out she rudely told us not possible. I asked about switching rooms and that was also out of the questions. After fiddling around for 10+ minutes she finally got it to stay on but never showed us how to do it so we had a few more problems with it during our stay. Other than that one employee, the other staff members we very courteous! The hotel was nice and was within walking distance to the wharf and cannery row! Now Monterey tends to roll up early, we were usually back in our room by 11pm. I was surprised to find that we could not order any movies and the cable selection was very basic! We had planned to drink a bottle of wine and relax with a good movie, no such luck. We did bring our iPad and ordered a movie on Netflix. Not quite the same, but a good weekend all around! We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannonambro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Shannonambro,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at Hotel Abrego. My apologies about the maintenance and customer service issue you experienced during your stay. Comments like yours help us take the necessary steps toward improving our hotel for overall guest satisfaction. We look forward to your return to Hotel Abrego.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for a birthday getaway. Perfect spot in downtown Monterey. Plenty of parking and rooms were very nice, spacious and modern.
Loved the full size dedicated shower, our room also had a fireplace. Nice amenities in the rooms, modern but very warm, natural material used throughout.
The restaurant was excellent, spoke with the chef and he offered to make anything I felt like having, even if it was not on the menu.
Plan to return soon

Room Tip: I liked the main building
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jfeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Jfeil,

Happy Birthday from Hotel Abrego! We are glad to hear your getaway was an enjoyable one. Our accommodations were designed with comfort and style in mind, and our chef is eager to please. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

great room....large and pleanty of leg room. Fireplace was a nice way to heat the room without any noice....quiet....close to everything....great staff and very friendly and helpful. Clean room with good size bathroom...very clean and the bed was new and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear jim k,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Abrego for your business needs! We have amenities to accommodate every type of traveler. We will soon be launching a Business Hub to add to our complimentary hotel amenities. Make sure to stop by next time you come to Monterey on your business travels.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed in three different rooms during our stay in Monterrey. Very clean rooms and nice bedding. Main building lower level was very noisy and no remedy or compensation was offered. First room we had the shower head was very low so we had to stoop while showering.rooms are spacious and fireplaces are gas. We will stay again but will try to book an upper level.

Room Tip: Lower level main building was very noisy yet spacious. When we complained about noise clerk appeared...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorlou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Lorlou2,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at Hotel Abrego. We doour best to accommodate each guest request to make your stay an enjoyable one, and we hope to see you again on your future visit to the Monterey area.

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

It's was the week of the AT&T golf championships that I had to go pick up my son who is in school at the Stevenson School in Pebble Beach. I usually stay at the Inter Con, but it was full, so I tried Hotel Abrego, I loved it so much I will stay here from now on. The rooms are huge, with a fireplace. It has a laundry room, small gym. Perfect for a traveling mom like me. The car wash is just a few steps away, so are some of the best restaurants in town.

Room Tip: I stayed in the 2 nd floor room. It has a fireplace
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetkaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear sweetkaka,

Thank you for sharing your "pleasant surprise" with us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Abrego and utilized our new Exercise Studio. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Monterey!

Regards,

Tracy J. Call
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,993 reviews
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $156 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing