We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great Hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel was extreamly nice and very affordable. It was within walking distance (or at least a short drive) of all the great attractions in Monterey. The staff was helpful and stayed after hours in the lounge while my family and I had cocktails (didn't even mention to us that they were closed, and kept serving us!) We had a great time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Good afternoon Mike H,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Abrego. Thank you for your patronage of Hotel Abrego. We are pleased you experienced Hotel Abrego to be extremely nice and very affordable, and within walking distance (or at least a short drive) of all the great attractions in Monterey. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Tracy Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    641
    206
    67
    31
See reviews for
525
911
71
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Myslef and my three girlfriends stayed here in April. The hotel is beautiful. Our room was huge with two king beds, an electric fire, massive bathroom. I would definitely recommend anyone going to Monterey to stay here. The was ample parking and a small outdoor pool. There is a diner accross the street but it was just ok.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBoyle2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Good afternoon KBoyle2001,
Thank you for the excellent review of Hotel Abrego. We are pleased you expereinced our beautiful hotel. Thank you also for recommending us to anyone coming to Monterey to stay!
We look forward to seeing you on your next travels to Monterey.

Best regards,
Tracy Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed in the main building with a spacious room overlooking a busy street however with the sliding glass door closed I couldn't hear a thing. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've experienced in a hotel in a while. I enjoyed the electronic start gas fireplace, the flat screen TV with lots of clear channels and a tall shower.

The only con is the bathroom door that opened into the room which wouldn't stay open.

Staff were helpful, check-in was quick and parking is very convenient. A very clean hotel, I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DigitisedMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Good afternoon DigitisedMe,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Abrego. We are thrilled you experienced the most comfortable bed you slept in in a hotel in a while at Hotel Abrego. We wish you many more.. restful relaxing nights. Thank you for taking time to complete the review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Tracy Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Clean, tidy, decent sized rooms (for a family of four) and an outdoor pool and hot tub. What's not to like? Bit of a walk into the thick of it (but handy for Fisherman's Wharf). Helpful, friendly staff. Decent and good value for money breakfast. All in all a decent, quiet hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisreedn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Good afternoon Chrisredn4,

Thank you for your patronage of Hotel Abrego. We are thrilled you experienced Hotel Abrego to be a clean, quiet hotel and the staff friendly. We strive to provide a calm relaxing stay for everyone of our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Best regards,
Tracy Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMONTON
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great place with friendly staff. Morning buffet was top quality and chef was happy to accomodate a gluten allergy. Room was nicely decorated and good night sleep. Is somwehat away from downrown but a short distnace.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angupema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Good afternoon angupema,

Thank you for your recent review of Hotel Abrego. We are pleased you experienced our friendly staff and even more excited we were able to accomodate a gluten allergy with our menu in Bistro Monterey. We hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Tracy Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

On the edge of the town so not near attractions or good restaurants. The room was small with one smallish double bed. It was very dark in the room although quite well furnished as it had been updated. The breakfast was adequate although no buffet.

Room Tip: The upstairs room would probably be lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjlHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Good afternoon cjlterts,

Thank you for your recent review of Hotel Abrego. Our staff strives for every guest to have a relaxing enjoyable stay . We are delighted you experienced the guest room to be well furnished and updated. We hope to see you again on your next business trip to Monterey and a stroll down to Fisherman's Wharf from our downtown location.

Thank you for your patronage of Hotel Abrego.

Best regards,
Tracy Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
223 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I've stayed at this property several times in the past and always found it to be clean, comfortable, upscale, and quiet. There are a variety of room types and styles to choose from - well described on their web site. The fireplace rooms are very nice and typically large. My most recent stay was in a room on the back of the building which was very quiet except for some construction across the alley.

Room Tip: If staying in a room on the back be aware the outside wall is fully in the sun in the afternoon whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Good afternoon Keith T,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding Hotel Abrego. We are thrilled you found the Hotel Abrego to be clean, comfortable, upscale, and quiet. Thank you also for your continued patronage.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Tracy Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Property: Hotel Abrego
Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing