We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay in Monterey”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our room was a good size with a comfortable bed, free coffee and tea and a good bathroom. We had planned to eat in Cannery Row or Fishermans Wharf but a flat tyre on the way delayed us quite a lot and we arrived quite late. So we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant. We had a very good meal, which was good value for money, so we had breakfast there as well and enjoyed the very nice buffet style. The staff were very helpful over our late arrival and gave some good advice about dealing with the repair of the flat tyre locally.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Derek_and_Judith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Good afternoon Derek and Judith,

Thank you for chosing Hotel Abrego on your recent trip to Monterey. Thank you for taking the time to complete the review of Hotel Abrego. We are pleased we were able to assist in your flat tire incident. And are excited you enjoyed your experience in Bistro Monterey, the hotel restaurant. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Monterey ;however, hopefully without the flat tire incident. Safe travels.

Best regards,
Tracy Call
General Manager
Hotel Abrego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,658 - 1,664 of 2,543 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

Hotel Abrego was lovely. It's very conveniently located about a 10min walk from Fisherman's Wharf and downtown shops in Monterey. The hotel rooms are beautifully furnished and very comfortable. My only suggestions for travellers would be to request a top floor room for noise and security. Our bedroom was a bit stuffy and didn't have AC (front desk said the hotel didn't have AC as the weather in Monterey was cool/cold most of the year so AC wasn't generally required). We had a lovely balcony so could open the door for fresh air, but the balcony wasn't secure so I didn't want to leave the door open all night.

We were also located on the 2nd floor and had someone staying in the room above us who stomped around till late at night and then got up ludicrously early to stomp around again. I did mention this to Front Desk who handled the situation beautifully by immediately offering to move us up to the top floor.

A few small niggles but this would definitely not prevent us from staying there again.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mischiefdebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Good afternoon mischiefdebs,
Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Abrego and completing the review. Your feedback is valuable to us. We are overjoyed you found Hotel Abrego lovely and conveniently located, about a 10min walk from Fisherman's Wharf and downtown shops in Monterey.

Look forward to seeing you again,
Tracy Call
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Do as I say, not as I did. I got the standard King room, and I wasn't pleased with the room overall. I was expecting the pictures I saw on-line. Our room was in the corner of the motel and we heard people going up and down stairs all night long. The negatives for our room: very dirty carpet, no curved shower rod, had to carry luggage up and down stairs, (no elevator), noisy room and very dated furniture. The positives are: linens, big screen tv and proximity to the bay. All the other posts rave about this place, so I'm sure that the upgraded rooms are much nicer. Learn from my mistake and splurge a little.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXFlowerLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Good Afternoon TXFlowerLady,

First of all, thank you for staying with us at Hotel Abrego as we know you have many hotel choices in Monterey. Your feedback is valuable, especially regarding the carpets. We have taken steps to improve our preventative maintenance plan with the carpeting. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Monterey.

Thank you for your feedback,
Tracy Call
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great sized room modern decor, walkable to Downtown, free wifi, nice pool, and friendly efficient service, need we say more?
Some excellent recents, reviewed in Tripadvisor nearby too.
Seemed to be redecorating the downstairs rooms too.
I would say on par with 4 star hotels! Which prompted me to submit this review.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Anant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Good Afternoon AnantP,
Thank you for your excellent review of Hotel Abrego. And most of all thank you for staying with us. We are grateful you enjoyed our location, which is walkable to Downtown, and free wifi. We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards,
Tracy Call
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the Hotel Abrego.
Despite being a few minutes from the bay, there was still a sense that the shore was close-by.

We were fortunate to have a large room in the 4th block which had a large TV, 2 Queens and a fireplace.
Bathroom is good size with sufficient amenities.

The walls are reasonably thin so we ended up hearing early risers and late sleepers being our only negative.

Hotel Abrego has a good position to access the Highway 1 and also Gas stations and Liquer stores nearby.

One downside was breakfast, which we felt could have been a little more substantial. We ended up in Denny's across the street!

I would surely recommend this reasonably priced hotel/motel if you wish to stay in Monterey.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Good afternoon AdamH,

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Abrego. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our location. We are pleased you were pleasantly surprised by the Premier Fireplace guest room with two queen beds. Safe travels.

We hope to see you again,
Tracy Call
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This property is NOT bay-side, it's about 2 minutes from the ocean. However you save about $300+ per day over those rooms!

Stayed there Oct 23 & 24 2012, and thought the facilities and rooms were VERY NICE. They even provide robes for your trip to the jacuzzi/pool.

Rooms come with a electronic start gas fireplace, nice bedding and pillows, flat screen TV w lots of clear channels, tall shower, very pleasing tile and wood trims throughout. Stylish yet practical. Sink in Bath & dressing area.

The facility is either new or extremely well maintained. Even the toilet seat is soft-closing. LOVE this place, very pleasantly surprised!

This will be our place to stay when we visit Monterrey again, no hesitation.

Room 3203 was a great choice, ground floor near pool.

Room Tip: DON'T eat in restaurant. Wall of China and Denney's across the street are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1sdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Good Afternoon Isdman,

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Abrego. And thank you for the favorable review.
We are pleased you enjoyed the fireplace, nice bedding, pillows, and flat screen TV . Hotel Abrego opened as Monterey's newest full service boutique hotel in 2009.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Tracy Call
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon tour of California.

The location is away from the main town but we didn't find this a problem .

The rooms are gorgeous. Very tasteful and modern decor throughout, the fireplace is stunning.

Would highly recommend to anyone staying in Monterey

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jameshart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Good afternoon Jameshart7,

Congrats and best wishes! We are happy to be part of your honeymoon tour. We hope to see you again on your 1st anniversary. THANK YOU for the offer of recommending Hotel Abrego to anyone staying in Monterey

Thank you,
Tracy Call
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,011 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $155 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing