We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location; comfortable hotel”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, CA
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Convenient location; comfortable hotel”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while sightseeing in Monterey. Location is great - easy walk to the Wharf. Reception staff were overwhelmed (one person handling phone calls and two simultaneous checkins). The floor/ceilings have no soundproofing so we could hear everything going on in the room above us -- they said "they are working on this". Recommend requesting a top floor room. Pool and hot tub were nice. Comfortable mattress. Nice fireplace although we didn't get to use it. Overall convenient, clean, comfortable.

Room Tip: Choose top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrisPena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    788
    249
    77
    35
See reviews for
676
1,138
85
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

we were happy with our stay at Hotel Abrego. Check in was fast and friendly, the room was a really good size - comfortable enough to accommodate 2 adults and 2 kids - with all the amenities you could want including a coffee machine. The price was very reasonable with breakfast included and free wifi and parking.

The room was nicely renovated - very clean and tastefully decorated.

The location is not in the centre of things and we felt it would be a bit of a walk to get to Cannery Row etc but we knew that when we booked and didn't mind driving the short distance to places.

Also, some of the rooms such as the one we had are up a flight of stairs so luggage had to be carried up. It was not a problem for us but if that would cause you difficulties, I suggest you request a place inside the main building which has a lift.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restlessjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear JenAndAndrew,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Abrego. We are happy you found the guest room a good size to accommodate 2 adults and 2 kids. Our entire staff takes pride in providing eacha nd every guest a pleasant stay. Thank you for your comments as your feedback is appreciated.

We hope to see you again soon,

Tracy Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speyer, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here for one night during our trip along route 1. It was very nice and quiet when we arrived. Very friendly and efficient check in process. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and well decorated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Renate R,
Thank you for taking the time to complete the recent review of Hotel Abrego on TripAdvisor.
Each and every staff member strives to provide every guest with an enjoyable stay. We are thrilled you found Hotel Abrego nice and quiet and the hotel staff very friendly and helpful.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Monterey for holidays,

Tracy Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

As always, we chose this hotel from favorable reviews on Trip Advisor and similar web sites. The Abrego Hotel proved to be a very good hotel. The buildings looked very nice, in an old fashioned Spanish or Mexican style. Our room was of very good standard, and provided more than enough space (two adults and two kids). It offered the amenities we appreciate, like a fridge, safe and wi-fi internet. Beds were comfortable. The bathroom was large. The sink was very stylish, but very shallow, when it came to practical use. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We did not eat at the hotel, or use other services, except from the laundry service (a washing machine and a tumble dryer), which worked like a charm. Parking was on the hotel's property, and free, and there was enough parking space.

Shops and restaurants were within walking distance; very convenient. A visit to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Wharf required the use of a trensport, but there was a free trolley bus service in town. Brilliant!

The Abrego Hotel lived up to expectations, and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TVTravelerHaugesund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear TVTravelerHauge...,

THANK YOU! Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the rooms enough space for a family of four.
Our entire staff takes pride in providing a memorable and enjoyable stay.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Monterey, CA.

Best regards,
Tracy Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2012

While we could not find anything to complain about there was something missing. Reception staff were not friendly but were businesslike. We paid a high rate and were in a motel room, Abrego have a hard job to justify their prices when it is a motel, maybe the main building is different but our room across the car park was disappointing and dirty carpets in entrance were poor. If the Abrego wants to charge inflated rates then they will need to upgrade the accommodation. it was ok but nothing special and I would not recommend at these rates.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazziegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Kazziegar,
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. We are disappointed we did not provide a memorable stay for you at Hotel Abrego, Monterey's newest boutique hotel. We appreciate your comments as your comments help to improve overall guest satisfaction. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you further regarding your stay.

Best regards,

Tracy Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed here fore one night during trip along route 1. It was very nice and quiet when we arrived. We arrived early before check in and they gave us a room. Very friendly and efficient check in process. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful.

The room was spotless and well decorated, included a balcony, and a gas fireplace. Bathroom was spotless, very modern and the toiletries were nice. The beds were really comfortable.

Basic Wi-Fi is free & faster bandwidth upgrades are available for a fee.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 449723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear 449723,
Thank you for your recent review of Hotel Abrego. We are thrilled you enjoyed a nice and quiet stay. We will pass on the positive comments regarding our very friendly and efficient check in process. Our entire staff takes pride in providing each and every guest with a memorable and enjoyable stay.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Tracy Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Abrego for our anniversary and loved it! The location was great and the hotel staff was wonderful. It was an absolute delight. We will definetly stay here in the future!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Kjh4,

Thank you for your lovely review of Hotel Abrego and happy belated anniversary!
We are thrilled you enjoyed the location of Hotel Abrego and encoutered our wonderful hotel staff.

We hope to see you again soon, possibly on your next anniversary,

Tracy Call
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Property: Hotel Abrego
Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing