We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Ever!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

First off I just want to say that this is by far the best hotel We've ever stayed at. There is not one complaint we had, and the price was excellent. Honestly, all of the chain hotels need to send employees here to learn how to run a hotel. The minute we arrived I was already impressed. It is in a good location and was easy to find off the highway. The property is very new and looks like it to as it is very well maintained. When we went to check in, there was no wait and the service was unbelievable. Probably the most personable employee I've found yet. She was recommending restaraunts, things to do, how to get there, etc. great job!!!! Our room was upstairs in the main building and was easy to access. The room was spotless and quaint, which fit's this town perfectly. The room is very romantic too with a fireplace, chaise, and a very comfortable bed. There is nice stone surrounding the fireplace and beautiful dark wood around the tv, both nightstands, and the desk. The bathroom was great as well with a stone floor and matching shower walls. The whole room was very modern. Next, the price! I have to start off by saying most hotel rooms in this area (and motels) run about $80-130 per night. We paid $130 for a night, and I would have been fine paying $300-400 per night. Overall, easily the best hotel experience and we have stayed at Hilton's, Sheeatons, Marriotts, Holiday Inns, you name it! Great job! We will be returning

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dano9258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    628
    202
    67
    31
See reviews for
510
900
71
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed in main building. Room was nice, a bit smaller than we thought, but ok. Bathroom great, except no fan (maybe not working). Staff was awesome. We did not eat there, chose to eat in town. Only drawback or good point....not near wharf or aquarium or cannery row. This means walking to trolley, taking car and paying for parking. But, it also is nice to 'get away' from it all too.

Room Tip: Ask for room that has been redone. Our was in main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DorothyLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This was our third stop on our trip to California for our honeymoon. We had read all the good reviews online and am pleased to say we weren't disappointed. Check in was easy and welcoming, location is great and rooms are modern and spacious. We were given a high floor as requested and it appeared we didn't have any adjoining rooms. It was very quiet.

This was the only hotel on our trip who left us a personalised welcome letter, complimentary water and a nice box of chocolates to welcome us as a honeymoon couple, which we greatly appreciated. There is free WiFi in all rooms, bath robes are also provided.

All in all we were really happy with our stay here, only sorry it was for a mere 2 nights!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHotelInspector73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights.
Checkin was not friendly, a smile & a warm greeting goes a long way.
The room was quiet, the decor needs to be bright.
The wall colours are far too dark, not enough lighting in the room. Yes the rooms could be sound proofed better, I think the interconnecting doors could be better quality.
The room had a very stale odour, the carpet/flooring could do with a really good clean.
If you are accommodation who is "pet friendly" extra care should be taken with flooring.
I wear house scuffs in all hotels, the soles of my scuffs were filthy.
The twin beds were comfortable.
The daily service was efficient.
The meal in the restaurant was below par.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Found the reviews to be spot on. Great hotel with really nice rooms. Very clean. Front desk staff were excellent and helped me retrieve a lost iPad charger.
I would have rated it higher though if it wasn't for the rudeness of breakfast wait staff. After waiting in a queue we were instructed that we would have a long wait in a very demeaning tone. Meanwhile tables lay empty outside and could 2 tables for 2 not accommodate 3?
Otherwise it's a great place!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingemiester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Comfortable bed in a nice sized room. Nice desk with wi fi access and a tiny little patio...how cute, and a nice touch.

Room Tip: We only stayed one night and did not use room service or the fitness center. Our room was very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenwearleykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midpines, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Abrego in order to attend a wedding at the Monterey Beach House. The location of the hotel was very convenient to the site of the wedding and is also near the Pier. The rooms are smallish, but very nicely-appointed with a huge TV situated over a gas fireplace. Lovely bathroom fixtures and tile. Our only complaint would be that the walls are very thin. We went to sleep listening to our neighbor's TV and woke up the same way. We were on the ground floor and our upstairs neighbors when walking back and forth in their room sounded like a herd of elephants in a frenzy. Unfortunately I had forgotten to bring my standard item for travelling-silicone earplugs. They would have been a big asset at the Hotel Abrego.

Room Tip: Book a room on the top floor to avoid the noise from upstairs neighbors walking back and forth in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LEELEE114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Property: Hotel Abrego
Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing