We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sailing charter”

Monterey Bay Sailing
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Monterey Bay Sunset Sailing Cruise With Unlimited Wine and Beer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Sail with confidence on world famous Monterey Bay. Monterey hosts the most bio-dense and bio-diverse ecosystem on the U.S. Pacific coast. Whether you are a complete novice trying sailing for the first time, or an experienced ocean veteran ready to take your seamanship to a higher level, we offer American Sailing Association (ASA) classes taught to your skill level. Monterey Sailing Monterey Bay Sailing is a professional sailing organization established in 1998 whose mission is to offer residents of the Monterey Peninsula communities and visitors an affordable opportunity to sail the central coast. Marine mammals seen frequently include grey, blue and humpback whales who blow, or breach as they migrate with their calves. Sea otters, dolphin and vocal sea lions enjoy one of the most pristine areas of the entire Pacific. On cruises, all sailors are offered a chance to take the helm and discover the grace and beauty of a boat under sail. Choose a captained cruise for a more relaxing voyage in the world's second largest marine sanctuary. Cruises are safe, affordable, family fun for all ages. For sailors who want to become active in the sport, a membership in Monterey Bay Sailing Club reduces the cost of certification courses and bareboat rentals by 50 - 70%. Bareboat rentals are available for non-members who are certified and qualified to bareboat. The Monterey Bay Sailing fleet offers a selection of boats suited to the local conditions. The local conditions are a sailors paradise. Typically, 345 plus days of good to excellent sailing conditions predominate annually. The prevailing west to northwest wind ranges predictably from 8-15 knots. The ASA sailing school is instructed by professional sailors with decades of experience. ASA certifications are valid for life and recognized internationally. We are dedicated to teaching safety and seamanship and give you the confidence to fulfill your sailing goals and dreams.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great sailing charter”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We did not want to smell diesel fumes on a whale watching boat and were pleased to find this sailing charter right on the dock. Capt. Dutch was very nice and told us a lot about the bay and surrounding area. Only my wife and I were there but he was happy to take us out anyway. The cat boat had a very smooth ride and was easy to handle.
Complimentary wine was a great touch. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank chipNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    11
    6
    6
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a wonderful day day we had!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

After a start to a crazy day and missing the "boat" for whale watching we were directed to this venue. We signed on for a 2 hour tour with 2 other couples and a baby. Well, 30 minutes in the baby got sea sick and cried for the remainder of our tour. Dutch cut the tour short because of this. It wasn't his fault but was a bit disappointing but what did this Captain do? He offered to give us a refund, or we could pay for just the time that we were out or he would take us back out for the 2 hour cruise. He also offered to take us out for a 3 hour tour for an additional $50.00. We took the 3 hour tour which actually meant that we had been out on the water for 4 1/2 hours! And we got to see whales! They can't gaurantee that you will see any, how can they? Oh and by the way, he offered the couples with the baby a partial refund s well. That was way beyond what anyone would expect. If you have a choice of taking the big boat whale watcher or going sailing with Butch, you will have an exceptional time sailing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Bay_Sailing, Director of Sales at Monterey Bay Sailing, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your excellent review. We always do our utmost to fulfill our customers needs and make everyone happy. We always do our utmost to satisfy each and every customer and I am very glad that you enjoyed our services. Thank you for sailing with us and I hope you will come back soon.

Best Regards
Takoda Fletcher
Marketing Director
Monterey Bay Sailing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Company retreat”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Monterey Bay Sailing arranged for 24 coworkers of mine to go out on an afternoon cruise and it went off without a hitch. Dutch arranged for 2 additional skippers to take out 3 boats with 6 people each and ran me through the paperwork to take out a 4th boat (a 27' Pearson) as a bareboat. He was quick, thorough, but also laid back.

We lucked out on the weather (the day before had looked to be very breezy) but we had good steady 10knot breezes and perfect temperature. The bay was a bit swelly in places which caused a couple of folks to get a little sea sick, but everyone said they had a great time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Bay_Sailing, Director of Sales at Monterey Bay Sailing, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. Everyone here at Monterey Bay Sailing appreciates your kind response and we are always glad when we get good reviews. Thank you for sailing with us and we hope you will consider us for your future sailing needs. Best Regards Takoda Fletcher Marketing Director Monterey Bay Sailing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“20-20 hindsight”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Aug 23rd - This Sunset Appetizer cruise had the potential to be a very nice experience ... but ... the day had been overcast and breezy all day and as my wife & I and another couple boarded, we were told it would be "a little rough". In hindsight, although I admire Captain Dutch's experience, and he is a great host, he should have given us the option to take a rain check BEFORE we left the harbor and sailed into an overcast evening with a cold wind and 6 - 8 foot swells. Very little wine & appetizer were enjoyed as we huddled and hung on. After an hour into the cruise, I succumbed to the sea sickness and "lost it" over the stern of "Son of a Sailor". We barely caught a glimpse of the setting sun under the fog / cloud layer. When seeing that most of us were NOT enjoying ourselves, Capt. Dutch agreed to cut it short and return to the harbor.As Murphy's law would have it the next evening was perfect with a gorgeous sunset! I know that these guys can't control the weather, but their experience should give them insight into what the cruise will be like. The best service that a tour / cruise operator can do for his guests, is to anticipate what the experience might be like and give them an opportunity to re-schedule if it looks unpleasant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank VooDoo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Bay_Sailing, Director of Sales at Monterey Bay Sailing, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our business. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we deeply apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately we cannot predict the weather and we are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Obviously we did not meet your expectations and for that I am deeply sorry. If you come back to our business I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best. Best Regards Takoda Fletcher marketing Director Monterey Bay Sailing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piermont, New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good time in the bay”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went on a 2 hour morning sail with Captain Dutch. There was another couple on the sail with twin 2 1/2 year old girls. We are maintenence free and sat towards the front of the boat, but we could see that Dutch went out of the way to keep the other couple and their kids comfortable. He gave the girls a blanket when they were cold and Mom some ginger when she felt sick. I have seen some other reviews where people felt that he was rude by speaking on his cell phone while sailing. We all have to remember that he is running a small business and did not sit on his phone socializing. Overall a very good value. Would certainly do it again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank joeyrm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterey Bay Sailing also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Monterey Bay Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing