We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the $10”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 17-Mile Drive

17-Mile Drive
Book In Advance
More Info
$750.00*
and up
Monterey with Carmel and 17 Mile Drive - Private SUV Tour
Ranked #3 of 101 things to do in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Seals bask on the beach and pelicans perch on rocky cliffs along this famous drive that passes through many popular spots.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
276 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Well worth the $10”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Brilliant. Amazing coastline plus the added benefit (for golf tragics at least) of getting close to a couple of absolutely classic tracks. A no brainer for the money.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank StewWoodend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,994
    1,489
    620
    209
    151
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Save time if you are dtiving to Big Sur and skip this. Go into Point Lobos state reserve instead for some really great views and sightings of playful seals. Drive along the beach in Carmel instead.

Helpful?
1 Thank vasile123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Save your money”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We started off in San Francisco and drove down to Big Sur through Monterey. If you drive down route 1 (you have to), you are greated with some spectacular views down the drive for as far as you want to go.
We enjoyed the ease of stopping, sharing a conversation with other tourists, savoring the views and simply being blown away. I would have rather been at Big Sur for the sunset.

We did do this 17 mile drive and $10 later we were driving thoguth a lot of winding roads part gorgeous mansions, golf courses and private drives. About 20 minutes later we started passing by many beach side spots which were nice because you could get out onto Pebble beach and enjoy the breeze but you could do that elsewhere for free. There are no restrooms on the drive, unless you try to go to the lodge or the restaurant.
The best spot to stop was "Bird Rock" which had a large rock covered in birds and Guano. You could also hear seals and its a hot spot for otters.
If you are planning on dinner in the community, then the $10 applies to your meal.

Better views and easier driving on Route 1 South in my opinion.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anisha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“See How the Other Half Lives”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We really enjoyed the drive! It was fun to look at the houses and the views were great! When the drive starts, you may question your decision to pay to take this drive, but continue on, it only gets better. You also have opportunities to walk on the beautiful beach or the boardwalk. it was a pleasant way to spend a couple of hours.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank janice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Have someone else drive”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

If you are planning to travel 17-mile drive be sure to have someone else drive so you can fully enjoy the scenery. We were on a small tour so our guide drove. He stopped at several points so we could take in the scenery. Be sure to stop at Pebble Beach to please the golfers in the group.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 17-Mile Drive also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to 17-Mile Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing