We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful drive”
Review of 17-Mile Drive

17-Mile Drive
Book In Advance
More Info
$695.00*
and up
Monterey with Carmel and 17 Mile Drive - Private SUV Tour
Ranked #4 of 101 things to do in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Seals bask on the beach and pelicans perch on rocky cliffs along this famous drive that passes through many popular spots.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We paid the $10 to drive the 17 mile drive around the coast and near Pebble Beach. Seems like a lot of money to take a drive, but the coast line and golf courses were beautiful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelLover1977_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,060
    1,511
    630
    217
    153
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Must drive when in Monterey CA”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

After shopping @ Cannery Row, I decided to enter the 17-mi drive, which led me back to my hotel at Ocean Avenue in Carmel. Very convenient. I did the drive around noon, and the clear weather made the drive fun and enjoyable. I made a few stop so I could take pictures and soak in the awesome view. This place is world class. Definitely worth driving through if you are in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank crankypedaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxing and very scenic”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The 17-Mile Drive is a fun, relaxing thing to do. Our favorite stops were Spanish Bay and Bird Rock. It was awesome to hear the seals barking in the distance. This drive is a fantastic opportunity for some excellent photos.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vickielynn1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
“Inspiring Sights”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

In addition to visiting Cannery Row and the Monterey Aquarium, the 17-Mile Drive is a must for visitors to the Monterey Peninsula. The sights of the ocean, wildlife, golf courses, homes, forests are world class.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

See how the 1% live. Beautiful houses, but more importantly, beautiful ocean views. One stop we got to see harbor seals and sea otters. It was really fun to take our time and stop at all the lookouts. This is not about just driving from point A to B.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LessaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 17-Mile Drive also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to 17-Mile Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing