We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK - foggy, smelly, didn't stack up to other drives in the state parks”
Review of 17-Mile Drive

17-Mile Drive
Book In Advance
More Info
$695.00*
and up
Monterey with Carmel and 17 Mile Drive - Private SUV Tour
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Monterey Bay and Carmel-by-the-Sea Day Tour from San Francisco
Ranked #3 of 105 things to do in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Seals bask on the beach and pelicans perch on rocky cliffs along this famous drive that passes through many popular spots.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just OK - foggy, smelly, didn't stack up to other drives in the state parks”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stopped at 17 mile drive after driving CA-1 to Big Sur - so we may well have been spoiled and having beautiful scenery fatigue. However, we heard from everyone we met on the trip that their trip there was very foggy, and we waited all week to find good weather but it wasn't quite possible. The drive itself just lasted much longer than was needed to see the key points. Paying $10 to drive through someone's neighborhood was also weird - I liked being at a state park where we could stop, get water, and use a restroom without getting weird looks from the dining room staff at the clubhouse. The beachfront views for some reason had strnger smells of bird poop and animals than anywhere else we had been all over the coastline, from Santa Cruz to Julia Pfeiffer State Park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,332
    1,605
    670
    226
    161
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Love it every time”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great views and spectacular houses. Watch out for the bike riders though. Been a long time since I had been there and it looks like nothing has changed. The way it should be!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank newyorker1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Have lunch or dine at Pebble Beach Golf Resort”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you paid the $9.50 to drive the 17-Mile Drive, you will get a credit if you decide to stop in at Pebble Beach resort for drinks or lunch. We had a wonderful lunch sitting on the patio overlooking the golf course and Pebble Beach and our entire $9.50 for the drive was credited toward our lunch tab. When I was there earlier this year, we only stopped for drinks, and I think you get at least a partial credit toward your bar tab.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RCorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not Worth It”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We drove up the coast from Southern California. The drive was amazing, bluffs overlooking the ocean, very pretty scenery. We heard that 17 miles drive was a must do in Monterey. There is really nothing to see here. The road is very narrow with walled off homes the majority of the drive. There are occasional "scenic viewpoint" stops that do not offer much. Save your time and money and drive down to Big Sur for free.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Len S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth it for the rock pools”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Leisurely drive (for a fee) with plenty of interest on the coastal parts. Plenty of stopping points and viewing areas but some are marred by wire fencing. One particular stop, where there is a toilet block, is accessible to the beach, The rock pools were teeming with life and there were plenty of seals and birds visible on a rocky outcrop close by. The lone cypress was not particularly impressive and is of course the marketing tool for the next stop on the drive - Pebble Beach Golf course. It was amusing to see two deer stroll across the final hole interrupting play!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 17-Mile Drive also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to 17-Mile Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing