We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent park! Great for all ages.”

Dennis the Menace Park
Ranked #5 of 101 things to do in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by the creator of Dennis the Menace, this park has all sorts of unique attractions.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent park! Great for all ages.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

My 5 and 8 yr old declared this the 'best' park they've ever been to! Great variety of things for the kids to play for the young and older ones. The climbing wall was a big hit and they both loved the roller slide. The maze was neat and the scenery gorgeous for the parents. The structures were in good shape and we had no problems finding parking in the lot even though it was a holiday weekend. We'll definitely be back on our next trip down to Monterey!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    151
    24
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paradise Valley, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
244 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Dennis the Menace Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a great park in a pretty setting on Pearl Street in Monterey next to a small lake. It has a fun footbridge, rock climbing wall, slides and other playground equipment in sand or on soft surfaces.
We arrived at the 9:30 opening and spent a little over an hour before the grandson's were ready to move on to the next place. Our 10 year old had fun, but the 7 year old was ready to return a few hours later.

Parking lot is provided.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cool park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This park is so unique and fun. We made sure our little one played here before jumping in the car for the long ride home. The long wobbly bridge was cool, the tunnels for the kids to crawl through and the roller slide made it a unique park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Bay Area
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great place for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We visited for the first time this past month and the kids LOVED it. So much to see and do. My youngest loved the sunshine bridge. My oldest loved the zipline. They enjoyed everything there.

Seemed like as the morning progressed (we got there around 10am), more and more families showed up. It's quite popular. There are restroom and snack facilities and a pond where you can paddleboat nearby.

If you are ever in the area, this is a great place to take the kids.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hello_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Offaly, Ireland
Level Contributor
239 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This park is situated about 20 minutes walk from the centre of Monterey in a lovely area close to a park and lake, the park is great for kids of all ages, they have numerous rides and attractions and it is free. A couple of nice statues and lots of green areas for families to have picnic - you could have a lovely day out here with kids and it seems quite safe and everyone looks out for each other.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sparkely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dennis the Menace Park also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Dennis the Menace Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing