We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing play area”

Dennis the Menace Park
Ranked #4 of 76 things to do in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by the creator of Dennis the Menace, this park has all sorts of unique attractions.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

If you have young children this is the place to take them. There is a rock climbing wall, numerous slides, swings, a great bridge. The ground is made of foamy material which is great. There is also an area for smaller children. Wish there were more benches but it is still a great park which will be visited a lot more.

Thank GarciaFamilyMayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"paddle boats"
in 41 reviews
"climbing wall"
in 35 reviews
"suspension bridge"
in 31 reviews
"roller slide"
in 24 reviews
"playground equipment"
in 22 reviews
"train engine"
in 16 reviews
"great playground"
in 13 reviews
"all ages"
in 54 reviews
"hedge maze"
in 11 reviews
"kids run"
in 11 reviews
"burn off some energy"
in 11 reviews
"real train"
in 11 reviews
"older kids"
in 12 reviews
"great place for kids"
in 13 reviews
"kids will love"
in 11 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 11 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 9 reviews
Filter

555 - 559 of 679 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

Kids had a great time. It is amazing that a place built so long ago still feels so inventive today.

Date of experience: June 2012
1  Thank SusanBenicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

They'd have fun with a rusty nail too... but they really did like the playground. We skipped the aquarium on this trip as we were just passing through on the way from LA to SF... so this park was great as a place to get out and run around along our way. We went on a weekday, and while we found a place to park in the main lot, there were not many. I would suspect parking might be an issue on the weekend. There is also a small fenced off area within the park that was great for us to bring our young children since we could close the gate and let them play without worrying about where they would run off to.

Date of experience: June 2012
2  Thank Food_snob_undercover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Played here as a young child some 50+ years ago. The no admission public park with free parking is still well maintained and clean. Great location near Monterey attractions.

Date of experience: June 2012
3  Thank WiFi_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Nice local park. Several play structures including rock wall. Real locomotive on site was under repair.

Date of experience: June 2012
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dennis the Menace Park also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Dennis the Menace Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing