We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Monterey history”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Museum of Monterey

Museum of Monterey
Ranked #28 of 101 things to do in Monterey
Attraction details
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
299 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Loved the Monterey history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our hour long visit to this small but worthwhile museum. The first floor had pictures and mementos of the Monterey pop festival of 1967 (we even drove past the venue at the corner of Mark Thomas Drive and Garden Road, outside of town) and the second floor had a variety of historical artifacts about old Monterey. We enjoy history and had a lovely time. There were rare military artifacts, women's clothing, deep sea diving information (abalone in Monterey), etc. Children should enjoy it, but it won't be good for more than an hour or so. Staff was super helpful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Awarely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    7
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood
Level Contributor
161 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Music Love & Flowers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was in Monterey for a conference and one of the conference events was held at the Museum of Monterey in conjunction with the “Music Love & Flowers” show about the Monterey International Pop Festival, which took place at the Monterey Fairgrounds in June, 1967. It was a wonderful trip down memory lane and the film of the same was fantastic! I highly recommend going just for this alone…as it seems that being “Groovy” is a theme right now in Monterey with the Aquarium sporting the Groovy Jellies exhibit. The other parts of the MoM were also very interesting and I loved looking at the glass for the light house. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. The MoM is a great treasure!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DoctorBuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Now an awful "art" museum.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

The maritime museum was a favorite spot of mine in old Monterey, but it has since changed to the Museaum of Monterey (MOM) and now hosts art exhibits ranging from ok to awful. Very disappointed.

Helpful?
4 Thank DangaBrewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

It was great to see the Old Sail Boats of yesteryear. You could imagine how difficult it was travelling the vast distances in what must have been very cramped conditions. So much History :-)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank stayedroom331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Fresnel Lens Lighthouse installation inside the Museum.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

This is the most engaging museum staff I have ever encountered. They are welcoming (how often does that happen in a museum?), full of enthusiasm, anxious to share their knowledge and love of the area and the "treasures" they have collected for this small space. Upon entering, a young man introduced himself and offered to show us the Lighthouse lens installation. Just stunning, a beautiful work of art. The second floor history is very interesting, again when greeted by a staff member with wonderful stories to share.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BelleCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Monterey also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing