We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Old Fisherman's Wharf
from $75.00
More Info
from $75.00
More Info
from $65.00
More Info
Reviews (2,741)
Filter reviews
2,741 results
Traveler rating
952
1,055
592
106
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
952
1,055
592
106
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clam chowder seafood fisherman's wharf whale watching souvenir shops lots of restaurants salt water taffy sea lions cannery row walk around boats stroll grotto bay fishing tourists jewelry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,021 - 1,026 of 2,741 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2016

Its one of the coolest places to go to once you are in San Francisco, im been here for at least twice when i was in Frisco. Nice place

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank Amorsolo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016

We went to Monterey for a wedding. We stayed within walking distance to Fisherman's Warf and spent one afternoon touring the shops and restaurants there. It was great.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank mhughes348
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2016 via mobile

It is a lot smaller than the 1st timer might expect. Much smaller than cannery row. A hit and miss of restaurants offering your normal seafood fare as well as locAl souvenir shops. You should definitely do it once....but don't lose sleep if you miss it. Checkout cannery row and the various natural offerings in the area first!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank _derekboyes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2016

The Old Fisherman's Wharf is better than San Francisco's (SF) Fisherman's Wharf, in my opinion. First off, there's plenty of parking available, for a fee. Second, if you stay in any of the hotels in Cannery Row, walking to the Fisherman's Wharf is a pleasant experience, because the walking trail is by the Beach and along the Harbor.

Unlike SF, I did not hear any "boombox" noise from street peddlers. Instead, there were stations of food tasting tables in front of most restaurants. The pleasant smell of seafood would make anybody hungry. The whole atmosphere was more pleasant in Monterey by far compared to SF because the wharf is smaller and it has a less urban feel. There are no buildings taller than two-storeys, which gave the wharf a more open feel.

There's an area on the wharf where one can view the ocean and, if lucky enough, spot harbor seals. Souvenir shops abound and there's definitely plenty of places to eat for fine and casual dining. We went to Domenico's as it was the only place that we found that made Bouillabaisse.

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank Mimie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2016 via mobile

Reminded me of the lost boys! Lots of lovely fresh sea food and pretty much everything you'd want to eat but the crab was stunning. Lots of little souvenir shops and street sellers with a bit of Montereys history thrown in.
Really enjoyed an evening spent wandering around on the pier, it's well lit, busy and felt really safe.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank 731robm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews