We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Bit of France in Monterey”
Review of Bistro Moulin

Bistro Moulin
Ranked #20 of 304 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Little Bit of France in Monterey”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I was surprised to see Bistro Moulin at #11 in Monterey - I would have put it much higher! We were given seats on short notice on a busy night with no reservations, and had some spectacular dishes with delicious wine in a cozy, countryside bistro atmosphere. The food was spiced just right, bringing out subtle flavor without anything overpowering. I had the escargot and the confit de canard, my wife the gratinee a l'oignon and one of the salads. The wine selection was excellent - we had glasses of Sostener pinot noir which were wonderful. Everybody was friendly, and this really was a highpoint of our evening in Monterey

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlaineDeLancey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    99
    26
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rural Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful gnocci”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

delicious spinach gnocci in cream sauce. also great bread and spread. service and atmosphere were also very good. my friends also enjoyed their meals.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“It was a good dinner”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had a very nice meal at Bistro Moulin even though neither Didier Dutertre nor Colleen Manni were there (67 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940, tel. 831-333-1200, E-mail: bistromoulin@gmail.com, web: http://www.bistromoulin.com/). Our server was friendly, professional and good. All the other servers helped too. The room is “bistro-y” but the tables are not close together. Audre had one (appetizer-sized) spinach gnocchi ($12.75). The gnocchi were light but they were floating in a cream sauce which made the dish a little too rich for Audre. Dimitri had the Osso Buco which he liked very much. It was in a tasty tomato sauce and had some snap peas in it too. With our meal we had a small bottle of Chateau Le Bonnat Grave Bordeaux ($28). There was no dessert on the menu that appealed so that was all we had. We spent $73.64 plus tip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aledm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Delightful French-style bistro”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My wife and I enjoyed a first class French style meal here last week. I had excellent coq au vin, which I have rarely found in any restaurant. Perfectly done, excellent sauce and flavor. My wife was equally delighted with her duck breast, just slightly pink and flavorful. We had a very good bottle of Fleurie, the only French wine we had during a two-week California vacation. We don't have vacation plans to return to Monterey any time soon, but if we do we will have this place on our plans to enjoy again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, great small restaurant atmosphere”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

You get personal service from the owners. This is a great place for dinner after a visit to the Monterey bay Aquarium as it is an easy walk up the hill. We enjoy taking friends to this restaurant and they always leave wanting to vist again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveldawg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Moulin also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Bistro Moulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing