We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice French restaurant near the Aquarium” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro Moulin

Bistro Moulin
Ranked #22 of 297 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Petaluma CA, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice French restaurant near the Aquarium”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Atmsophere was very cozy and our waiter was very attentive. They had a nice selection of French dishes and French and CA wines. We arrived around 7:30 pm without a reservation but managed to get a table. The restaurant was very busy which is always a good sign. We had had a late lunch and weren't very hungry so we took our time with dinner. The food was excellent and taking our time to savor it made it all the better. We would have gone back there another evening for dinner but we had other restaurant we wanted to try.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    94
    26
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seaside, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a tourist attraction. Locals eat here. Frequently.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Always make a reservation. It's small but charming. All indoor dining in two separate dining rooms. Very friendly staff. Very attentive and I've dined there many times over the years. Chef Diddier is very credentialed and his food is very consistent. Even on an evening when he wasn't there the food was spot on. Was very impressed his staff had been trained so well. Our family considers Bistro Moulin one of our top go to restaurants. Everything I've ever had there was delicious. The pomme frites with aoli are amazing. Please order some. Lovely wine list. Small family run restaurant with very good food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simple things show a sign of a good restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

This review is intended for the chef of this establishment.
1. Butter leaf salad: dressing was weak with acid, pickled onions unflavorful because they were to cold and the butter was coagulated: unpleasant to eat, ricotta salata was to sparse, salad over all was under seasoned.
2. Housemade Pate: presentation bland and uninterested, lacked condiments, under seasoned.

Atmosphere: good
Service: exceptional

Will return again to discover more and the good things.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank keep-on-roll-n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, wine, and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We reserved a table for 2 at 8 PM, were seated promptly at a superb location out of traffic, near the wine bins. Our server was knowledgable and efficient, personable and professional. The least expensive French Bordeaux red was delightful! The escargot were delicious, mopped up the sauce with bread. Crepes with crab, shrimps, and scallops were reminiscent of coquilles St Jacques from our favorite SF Restaurant Chez Nick on 8th Ave circa 1968. They were absolutely delicious. The duck confit with cassoulet was wonderful. To wrap up, the latte was super hot, tasty, just right. This place deserves our highest rating. It was sheer magic!

Helpful?
2 Thank J Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food with good vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

A very popular restaurant. It is located on a quiet street. We can feel the vibe the moment we step in. It really feels like I am in a bistro in Paris.

Food : we had the mussels, of course and the ossobuco. Both good!

Service : good. we had a 8:45 reservation but the table's not ready yet. The hostess asked us to wait a little and while we were waiting, though extremely busy, she came over to apologize and offered us two glasses of champagne.

I'd say this is a must go, if you like bistro with good food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LIGCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Moulin also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Bistro Moulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing